Quote:
|
Originally Posted by Ch1town
Tied game with 5 seconds remaining in the 4th quarter, A1 misses her second FT. After the rebounding, B1 gets fouled on the unsuccessful try at Team As basket.
Partner & I came to the conclusion that a foul is a foul on that live ball situation. B1 shot 2 on the other end at the correct basket. Ball game…
Half the crowd went nuts as the Team A coach thought we should've went with a IW resulting in a jump ball favoring guess who? Team A
1> Was that handled correctly?
2> Had B1s try been successful, Team A would have been awarded 2 points & B1 shoots 1 on the other end?
3> B1 doesn’t shoot the FT if time had expired? ie: 1 point wouldn’t affect the outcome.
|
The saving grace in this, to me, is the fact that B1 missed the basket. Try telling Coach A that not only are we going to shoot two at the other end, but he doesn't get any points for the ball going through the basket because the ball is dead at the moment the foul occurred. I am sure Coach A would graciously accept that explanation because we all know that the coaches are well aware of the rules.

Great job in getting it right!