The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 19, 2007, 09:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
Ruling

B1 pulls down a rebound under basket, A1 running from free throw line knocks ball out of B1's hands, ball rolls along endline. A1's momentum carries him out of bounds after he knocked ball away from B1. A1 then re-enters court and grabs free ball. Legal? Happened last night and not sure.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 19, 2007, 09:20am
MABO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MB, Canada
Posts: 796
Legal. Momentum carried the player OOB so they are allowed to reenter and play on.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!"

All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 19, 2007, 09:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
Legal....
Once A1 reestablishes himself inbounds, he may contact the ball and continue play. No penalty for momentum carrying player OB. Someone will post the rule shortly....
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 19, 2007, 09:25am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
NFHS case book plays 7.1.1SitB&C.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 19, 2007, 09:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
Thanks JR....
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 19, 2007, 10:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullor30
B1 pulls down a rebound under basket, A1 running from free throw line knocks ball out of B1's hands, ball rolls along endline. A1's momentum carries him out of bounds after he knocked ball away from B1. A1 then re-enters court and grabs free ball. Legal? Happened last night and not sure.

Thanks
Legal. I'm curious, did you or your partner blow the whistle? And how many fans, coaches or players screamed "HE'S OUT OF BOUNDS, HE CAN'T BE THE FIRST TO TOUCH THE BALL"..
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 19, 2007, 10:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
NFHS case book plays 7.1.1SitB&C.
Thanks for the specific case play. I thought I was right. Another situation If I can ask, A1 inbounds, it flicks off off A2's fingers, A1 jumps inbounds and gains possession. I know A1 can't inbounds obviously and be the first to gain possesion but is first scenario legal??

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 19, 2007, 10:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
Legal. I'm curious, did you or your partner blow the whistle? And how many fans, coaches or players screamed "HE'S OUT OF BOUNDS, HE CAN'T BE THE FIRST TO TOUCH THE BALL"..
Nobody said a word. I just had a brain fart and wasn't sure. Great night of B-ball mostly current college players and former players. Very clean, well played games with very little chirping. A pleasure.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 19, 2007, 10:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
Basically the same situation. Legal throwin, and now a loose ball. A1 only needs to have "inbounds" status to pickup the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 19, 2007, 10:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullor30
Thanks for the specific case play. I thought I was right. Another situation If I can ask, A1 inbounds, it flicks off off A2's fingers, A1 jumps inbounds and gains possession. I know A1 can't inbounds obviously and be the first to gain possesion but is first scenario legal??

Thanks
As long as A1 has 1 foot inbounds when he touches the ball he's OK. Throw in ends when A2 (or any player) legally touches the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 19, 2007, 11:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
Thanks.

This site should be required reading for all officials.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 19, 2007, 11:36am
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullor30
Thanks.

This site should be required reading for all officials.
I concur, reading the rulebook frequently along with hitting this site keeps one on their toes. Officiating.com is where it's at!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 19, 2007, 11:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
As long as A1 has 1 foot inbounds when he touches the ball he's OK. Throw in ends when A2 (or any player) legally touches the ball.
As long as A1 has 1 foot inbounds AND IS NOT TOUCHING OOB when he touches the ball he's OK.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 19, 2007, 11:57am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullor30
Thanks for the specific case play. I thought I was right. Another situation If I can ask, A1 inbounds, it flicks off off A2's fingers, A1 jumps inbounds and gains possession. I know A1 can't inbounds obviously and be the first to gain possesion but is first scenario legal??
Just a quick correction. A1 can throw the ball in be the first to gain possession. However, he may not be the first to touch. You seem aware of this, but the difference is key.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 19, 2007, 12:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
As long as A1 has 1 foot inbounds AND IS NOT TOUCHING OOB when he touches the ball he's OK.
Yeah yeah yeah shouldn't you be out looking for baseball shoes so your lazy @ss doesn't get run over?

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FED DH Ruling largeone59 Baseball 8 Tue Aug 02, 2005 05:47am
Need help on an XFL ruling bossman72 Football 6 Tue Jul 12, 2005 09:25pm
What's the ruling skeeter1114 Softball 5 Fri Sep 10, 2004 09:13am
Ruling? Scotto Baseball 4 Fri Nov 14, 2003 07:16pm
Need help on a ruling kimo Softball 34 Thu Aug 14, 2003 04:45pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1