The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 09, 2004, 11:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1
I umpire slow pitch softball, and we use ASA rules. We have a home run fence, but only goes from foul line to foul line. A player hit the ball that landed in fair territory (near the foul line), but bounced and went past the home run fence, in an area that was not fenced off. We do have a fence for being out of play along the side. There's only about 10 to 15 feet where there isn't a fence. Is this a ground rule double, or still a live ball?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 09, 2004, 12:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,376
This is something that should have been covered by the ground rules of the complex where the game was being played.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 09, 2004, 12:43pm
Ref Ump Welsch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Should have a ground rule on this. I would suggest that the fenceless area become a dead ball territory, awarding a ground rule double. One warning is the players may act dumb and need clarification that the fence extended becomes the line.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 09, 2004, 02:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,376
Quote:
Originally posted by Ref Ump Welsch
One warning is the players may act dumb and need clarification that the fence extended becomes the line.
The way to play this, though, is to encourage whoever makes the ground rules to include the clause that if the player makes a play on the ball, even in this extended dead ball area, then the ball will remain live. If the player throws their hands up to signal that the ball has entered dead ball territory, that gives the umps time to verify that it has entered DBT and to rule accordingly.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 09, 2004, 04:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Idaho
Posts: 1,474
Double

Skeeter,

You are correct. A bounding ball that goes beyond the fence into dead ball territory is a "ground rule" double.

Whether it goes over the fence or around the end of the fence (a fair hit that leaves the field in foul ball territory) make no difference.... double.

I've worked several fields like what you have explained. Why they didn't put in another 30 feet of fence is beyond me...???
__________________
"There are no superstar calls. We don't root for certain teams. We don't cheat. But sometimes we just miss calls." - Joe Crawford
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 10, 2004, 09:13am
JEL JEL is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 910
Why they didn't put in another 30 feet of fence is beyond me...???

1. Don't have any more fencing.
2. It will cost extra in labor.
3. It blocks access to the rest of the field and teams
can't get back there to warm up.
4. Well that's the way we've always done it.

It's beyond me too Town, but those are some of the 'scuses I hear, #4 is the most common. It's gotta be covered in the pre-game meeting. Also, a catch on the fence, a catch and fall into the fence should be touched on. Cover also what happens when the wind blows down part of the fence.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1