The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 19, 2007, 10:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
NFHS case book plays 7.1.1SitB&C.
Thanks for the specific case play. I thought I was right. Another situation If I can ask, A1 inbounds, it flicks off off A2's fingers, A1 jumps inbounds and gains possession. I know A1 can't inbounds obviously and be the first to gain possesion but is first scenario legal??

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 19, 2007, 10:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
Basically the same situation. Legal throwin, and now a loose ball. A1 only needs to have "inbounds" status to pickup the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 19, 2007, 10:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullor30
Thanks for the specific case play. I thought I was right. Another situation If I can ask, A1 inbounds, it flicks off off A2's fingers, A1 jumps inbounds and gains possession. I know A1 can't inbounds obviously and be the first to gain possesion but is first scenario legal??

Thanks
As long as A1 has 1 foot inbounds when he touches the ball he's OK. Throw in ends when A2 (or any player) legally touches the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 19, 2007, 11:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
Thanks.

This site should be required reading for all officials.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 19, 2007, 11:36am
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullor30
Thanks.

This site should be required reading for all officials.
I concur, reading the rulebook frequently along with hitting this site keeps one on their toes. Officiating.com is where it's at!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 19, 2007, 11:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
As long as A1 has 1 foot inbounds when he touches the ball he's OK. Throw in ends when A2 (or any player) legally touches the ball.
As long as A1 has 1 foot inbounds AND IS NOT TOUCHING OOB when he touches the ball he's OK.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 19, 2007, 12:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
As long as A1 has 1 foot inbounds AND IS NOT TOUCHING OOB when he touches the ball he's OK.
Yeah yeah yeah shouldn't you be out looking for baseball shoes so your lazy @ss doesn't get run over?

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 19, 2007, 12:42pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
Yeah yeah yeah shouldn't you be out looking for baseball shoes so your lazy @ss doesn't get run over?
How are baseball shoes gonna stop his lazy @ss from being run over?

Spiderman shoes couldn't do that.

No matter what Nike says, shoes can't cure an innate lack of mobility.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 19, 2007, 01:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
How are baseball shoes gonna stop his lazy @ss from being run over?

Spiderman shoes couldn't do that.

No matter what Nike says, shoes can't cure an innate lack of mobility.
I'm tired of big, stupid linebackers...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 19, 2007, 01:19pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Um, well, yeah, that was actually my point too.

Mr. Quick could borrow Spidey's boots and he'd still get his immobile, Snickers laden butt run down.

Just kidding, Tony(and any other U's reading)....
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 19, 2007, 11:57am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullor30
Thanks for the specific case play. I thought I was right. Another situation If I can ask, A1 inbounds, it flicks off off A2's fingers, A1 jumps inbounds and gains possession. I know A1 can't inbounds obviously and be the first to gain possesion but is first scenario legal??
Just a quick correction. A1 can throw the ball in be the first to gain possession. However, he may not be the first to touch. You seem aware of this, but the difference is key.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 20, 2007, 01:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Just a quick correction. A1 can throw the ball in be the first to gain possession. However, he may not be the first to touch. You seem aware of this, but the difference is key.
You're correct, that's what Im meant to say...........

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FED DH Ruling largeone59 Baseball 8 Tue Aug 02, 2005 05:47am
Need help on an XFL ruling bossman72 Football 6 Tue Jul 12, 2005 09:25pm
What's the ruling skeeter1114 Softball 5 Fri Sep 10, 2004 09:13am
Ruling? Scotto Baseball 4 Fri Nov 14, 2003 07:16pm
Need help on a ruling kimo Softball 34 Thu Aug 14, 2003 04:45pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1