![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
The original post was refering to a missed shot and rebound, therefor you DO NOT have a reset until the rebounding team gains possession. The situation to which you refer, i.e., the shot clock starting when it is touched inbounds, occurs on throw-in situations. See the rules reference below: 2002 NCAA Rules 2-13-5 found on BR-42 "Start the timing device when a player inbounds legally touches or is touched by the ball on a throw-in or WHEN A TEAM INITIALLY GAINS POSSESSION from a jump ball, an unsuccessfl try for goal or a loose ball." As far as the original question goes...i would grant the 30-SECOND time out and be prepared to explain to the coach, prior to leaving the floor for the half or during the next extended opportunity (maybe a media time-out) why i didn't have a 10-second violation. "My count was on 9 coach. When the clock shows 25, there is between 25.9 and 25.0 seconds left on the shot clock. Since he called a time out with 25 still showing and MY COUNT was at 9, i have to honor the time out request." i'd then let the coach get the last little jab in and walk away. jake |
Bookmarks |
|
|