Thread: gps-5
View Single Post
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 24, 2001, 12:21am
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
I (obviously) can't speak for the CBA, but NCAA 2-13.8 states, "When the shot clock indicates 0:00 but the horn has not sounded, time has not expired." I read that to mean that there is between 0.1 and 0.9 when the clock reads 0. In fact, I saw this on TV during some game over the past week or so.
The rule is different in the NBA, and therefore, CBA, WNBA, and NBDL, I would think.

Rule 7, Section II
g. If the 24-second clock reads 0, a 24-second violation has occurred, even though the horn may not have sounded.

An interesting difference. I can't imagine that the actual shot clocks are any different but the rules definitely are.

__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote