Quote:
Originally posted by Hawks Coach
Tony is right on this one, Dennis. If it was the way you state it, as soon as someone starts the 35 sec clock, it would immediately read 34. It takes a second for this to occur. Also, when the clock reads zero, it does not take .99 seconds for the horn to blow - it may have a slight delay due to the equipment, but it is not a full second. I am not sure on the rule, but I believe that ball in hand with clock reading zero is violation, so 0 seconds is considered 0.0, not 0.9 seconds.
|
No. In NF and NCAA rules, if any sort of timing device shows 0.0 or 0 and there has been no horn (assuming the horn is working correctly), that time period has NOT ended.
In NBA, if shot clock shows 0 or game shows (or is left with after mandated deductions) 0.0, that period is over.