Thread: gps-5
View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 21, 2001, 03:07pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Dexter
I say no 10-second violation.
First, the clock may not have been reset perfectly with gaining control.
Second, you go by the count - the clock is not allowed to "reset" the count.
Third, depending on the type of clock, anywhere from 9 to 11 seconds, exclusive, may have gone off the clock.
Fourth, because you looked after the timeout, you have no way of knowing if, for example, you granted timeout at 26 left and one tick ran off the clock.

I understand that some college supervisors say to call the 10 second violation based solely on seeing "25" but I would not do that in this case.
If you worked their conference, you would.

Under NCAA rules, the 10 second count starts when the ball is touched inbounds, not when team control is established. They are instructed to use the shot clock in the NCAA and the NBA. At least this is the way that Joe Forte explained it. 10 second violation.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote