The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 21, 2007, 09:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
This "advantage" is provided to players whose team is not in control; during a throwin, on defense, and during a jump ball. A player whose team is not in control may jump from his front court, secure the ball while airborne, and land normally in the backcourt.
I am not addressing you specifically Mr. Snaqwells, just using your post.

Is this "advantage" available to either team following a try?
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 21, 2007, 11:12am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamIAm
I am not addressing you specifically Mr. Snaqwells, just using your post.

Is this "advantage" available to either team following a try?
This is a point of contention. I'm going off memory here, but the rule states, "a player whose team is not in control (on defense, during a throwin, or during a jump ball)…may jump and…."

Whether this applies to a player on a shot depends on whether you think this freedom extends after the throwin ends but before player/team control is established. The debate is whether the examples in parentheses are all inclusive, or meant as mere examples of when a player's team isn't in control.
Example: A1 releases the pass on a throwin, which is then tipped into the air by A2. A3 jumps from the FC to secure the ball and lands in the BC. Here is where some officials differ on the interepretation of this rule.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 21, 2007, 11:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
This is a point of contention. I'm going off memory here, but the rule states, "a player whose team is not in control (on defense, during a throwin, or during a jump ball)…may jump and…."

Whether this applies to a player on a shot depends on whether you think this freedom extends after the throwin ends but before player/team control is established. The debate is whether the examples in parentheses are all inclusive, or meant as mere examples of when a player's team isn't in control.
Example: A1 releases the pass on a throwin, which is then tipped into the air by A2. A3 jumps from the FC to secure the ball and lands in the BC. Here is where some officials differ on the interepretation of this rule.

I'd have to say that a tip doesn't mean team control and is therefore not a violation....we discussed this play at length with 6 officials after a tournament game and we came to that consensus....
__________________
Do you really think it matters, Eddy?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 21, 2007, 11:42am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by RushmoreRef
I'd have to say that a tip doesn't mean team control and is therefore not a violation....we discussed this play at length with 6 officials after a tournament game and we came to that consensus....
No one argues that team control exists at this point. The debate is whether the "exception" continues once the throwin is over. IOW, is the exception granted every time there's no team control, or only during the three specified examples.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 21, 2007, 11:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
No one argues that team control exists at this point. The debate is whether the "exception" continues once the throwin is over. IOW, is the exception granted every time there's no team control, or only during the three specified examples.
Snaqwells - you're right that the throw-in has ended in this situation. However, no team control has been established. Therefore, no violation - no matter where the player takes off from and lands.

Think of what happens on a jump ball. Just because a jumper touches the ball doesn't mean that the backcourt exception has ended. Nor does it end when a non-jumper grabs the ball, as long as he's in the air (even though the jump ball would end at that point).
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 21, 2007, 12:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Dexter
Snaqwells - you're right that the throw-in has ended in this situation. However, no team control has been established. Therefore, no violation - no matter where the player takes off from and lands.

Think of what happens on a jump ball. Just because a jumper touches the ball doesn't mean that the backcourt exception has ended. Nor does it end when a non-jumper grabs the ball, as long as he's in the air (even though the jump ball would end at that point).

I know the throw-in is over when touched on the court, but I mentioned "team control" because there can't be a violation when team control was never established.

I threw this out before a college game...same exact scenario as Snaqwells stated with the tip....and we know in college there is team control on a thrown in....but the exception of the backcourt violation on a thrown in takes precedence there as well, according to the officials I was with that evening....meaning no violation on a tip by A into the backcourt which is then recovered by A.
__________________
Do you really think it matters, Eddy?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 21, 2007, 12:15pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,715
Quote:
Originally Posted by RushmoreRef
I know the throw-in is over when touched on the court, but I mentioned "team control" because there can't be a violation when team control was never established.
The problem with that is that the rule says there's no violation for a player whose team is not in control during a jump ball or throw-in.

Since the touch ends the throw-in, some people claim that the exception is no long valid.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 21, 2007, 01:00pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Dexter
Snaqwells - you're right that the throw-in has ended in this situation. However, no team control has been established. Therefore, no violation - no matter where the player takes off from and lands.

Think of what happens on a jump ball. Just because a jumper touches the ball doesn't mean that the backcourt exception has ended. Nor does it end when a non-jumper grabs the ball, as long as he's in the air (even though the jump ball would end at that point).
Mark, I agree with you. I'm only saying there is a significantly sized group of officials who don't. The argument is that the parenthetical items in the allowance are all-inclusive, and that the allowance no longer applies once the throwin or jump ball is over, even if player control has not yet been established.
Adam
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 21, 2007, 01:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Mark, I agree with you. I'm only saying there is a significantly sized group of officials who don't. The argument is that the parenthetical items in the allowance are all-inclusive, and that the allowance no longer applies once the throwin or jump ball is over, even if player control has not yet been established.
Adam
So what do you make of #26......I think you and I and other on here say no violation....does the other group feel that both are violations...???
__________________
Do you really think it matters, Eddy?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt ? missinglink Basketball 5 Mon Mar 13, 2006 12:25am
backcourt? jr Basketball 3 Sat Mar 11, 2006 09:43am
Backcourt gostars Basketball 6 Tue Nov 02, 2004 08:56pm
Backcourt??? whistleone Basketball 3 Sat Mar 01, 2003 01:11am
Backcourt DownTownTonyBrown Basketball 10 Thu Oct 31, 2002 03:41pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1