
Thu Mar 22, 2007, 03:32pm
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,014
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy
We all seem to agree that the exception for back court needs to be clarified. The one thing that is a given in the Rule 9-9-3 (Back Court Exception). The player has to jump from Front Court and catch the ball in the air. Mark Dexter made the statement, “Therefore, no violation - no matter where the player takes off from and lands.” This is incorrect. It does matter where the player takes off from. IT must be from the Front Court.
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Dexter
While it's true that the exception only applies to jumping from FC to BC, scrapper is correct in that jumping from BC and landing in the BC would not be a violation.
|
There was a play in the other thread that I cited about this.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy
(4) Throw-in for Team A near the division line in their front court (Team B’s backcourt). A1’s throw-in is deflected by B1 who is applying direct pressure on A1. B2 jumps from their backcourt court, catches the ball in the air and lands first foot in the frontcourt, second foot in the backcourt.
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
My ruling is that this is a backcourt violation. It is probably splitting hairs, but that's my call. Why? Since B2 jumped from his BACKCOURT rule 9-9-3 does not apply to him as that rule specifies a player jumping from his FRONTCOURT. Likewise, since the player is holding the ball, not dribbling it, 4-4-6 (what we call the three points rule) doesn't apply either. Rules 4-35 and 4-4-2 appear to be controlling. When B2 catches the ball both player and team control are established. Since B2 jumped from his backcourt both he and the ball have backcourt status at this time. When the first foot touches in the frontcourt and the second foot has yet to touch the floor the player has frontcourt status per 4-35-1b and 4-35-2 and thus the ball has frontcourt status per 4-4-2. When the second foot lands in the backcourt, the player and the ball both gain backcourt status per the same rules. Thus a backcourt violation has occurred per 9-9-1.
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
VIOLATION. No rule allows this.
|
|