Thread: Backcourt??
View Single Post
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 21, 2007, 12:30pm
RushmoreRef RushmoreRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
The problem with that is that the rule says there's no violation for a player whose team is not in control during a jump ball or throw-in.

Since the touch ends the throw-in, some people claim that the exception is no long valid.
I understand what you're saying but how are you going to call a backcourt violation if there is no team-control established. What about below...

What if A1 (inbounding the ball) throws it toward A2 in As backcourt. B1, playing defense, bats the ball into As frontcourt and it is retrieved by B2....according to the other posts, no violation on B because they aren't penalized for their spot on the floor.

If the reverse happens, inbounds to A2 in As frontcourt and batted to As backcourt and A2 retrieves? Some are saying that's a violation?

These scenarios don't involve airborne players like this post started out but both are making point about how I think the inbounding portion of this rule means until their is team control....which maybe should be clarified in the rules/case book.
__________________
Do you really think it matters, Eddy?
Reply With Quote