Quote:
Originally Posted by RushmoreRef
I understand what you're saying but how are you going to call a backcourt violation if there is no team-control established. What about below...
|
The argument goes:
Once the ball is tipped, the throwin is over, so the exception no longer applies. Therefore, once A2 catches the ball, he has established player control. If his last position was in the FC, then that's where the ball is. By landing in the BC, he commits a violation.
Quote:
Originally Posted by RushmoreRef
What if A1 (inbounding the ball) throws it toward A2 in As backcourt. B1, playing defense, bats the ball into As frontcourt and it is retrieved by B2....according to the other posts, no violation on B because they aren't penalized for their spot on the floor.
If the reverse happens, inbounds to A2 in As frontcourt and batted to As backcourt and A2 retrieves? Some are saying that's a violation?
|
This isn't a violation because team/player control was not established until the player is holding the ball in the backcourt. In the debated scenario, PC gets established by an airborne player who was last in the FC but lands in the BC. There is an allowance in the rules for this, but the debate is over when that allowance ends.