![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
7.1.1 SITUATION D: A1 jumps from inbounds to retrieve an errant pass near a boundary line. A1 catches the ball while in the air and tosses it back to the court. A1 lands out of bounds and (a) is the first to touch the ball after returning inbounds; (b) returns inbounds and immediately dribbles the ball; or (c) picks up the ball after returning to the court and then begins a dribble. RULING: Legal in (a) and (b). Illegal in (c) as the controlled toss of the ball to the court by A1 constitutes the start of a dribble, dribbling a second time after picking up the ball is an illegal dribble violation. (4-15-5; 4-15-6d; 4-35; 9-5)
|
|
|||
If you have not dribbled yet you can "pass" however it would be concidered a start of a dribble. When you catch up with the dribble you can continue the dribble or catch it then your options are pass or shoot.b
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() 2003-04 NFHS BASKETBALL RULES INTERPRETATIONS SITUATION 6: A1 jumps from the floor and secures a defensive rebound. A1 then pivots toward the sideline where a teammate, A2, is standing for an outlet pass. Just as A1 releases the pass, A2 turns and runs down the court. A1 throws a soft bounce pass to where A2 was standing. A1 then moves and secures the ball without dribbling. RULING: Legal action. A1 had the pivot foot on the floor and began a dribble by throwing the ball to the floor (the bounce pass); the dribble ended when A1 secured the ball. Upon reaching the ball, A1 also could have continued the dribble. (4-15-3,4) |
|
|||
So let me make sure I have this correct. If A1 has ended his dribble and he goes to make a pass to A2, but in the meantime A2 runs away, and A1 goes and recovers the pass this is a violation. Illegal dribble or a travel?
Scenerio 2: A1 still has his dribble and he makes an errant pass and he goes to secure it. May he continue to dribble or can he only recover it? Thanks guys I have learned a lot in a year. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
okay, I now know I have called this wrong a few times this season, I thought once a player went out of bounce he couldn't be the first one to touch the ball once he/she came back in bounds? I am going to have to rethink this. Then what is with the rule that if a player runs out of bounce on the baseline and then comes back in and is the first too touch the ball then a technical foul could be called? I have never saw it called this way but it is stated in the rule book. I am surprised I wasn't questioned about this the few times I called the violation for a player coming from out of bounds to touch the ball first after the pass or ball forced them to run out of bounds. I am little confused now.
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
btw 181174 "out of BOUNDS" not "out of BOUNCE." |
|
|||
Quote:
Need 2 Rulings! |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Coming Back Tomorrow | Mountaineer | Softball | 2 | Sun Sep 17, 2006 10:18am |
Inbounds-Outofbounds-Inbounds??? | BoBo | Football | 3 | Fri Nov 04, 2005 11:28am |
Coming back to haunt ya' - part II | Mark Padgett | Basketball | 13 | Sat Mar 15, 2003 09:46pm |
Coming back to haunt ya' | Mark Padgett | Basketball | 16 | Thu Mar 13, 2003 05:13pm |
Coming back inbounds after a save. | bossref | Basketball | 29 | Mon Dec 10, 2001 02:55pm |