The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 05, 2007, 09:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 119
Coming Back Inbounds

A1 is chasing a ball to the sideline. As he's falling out of bounds, he a)catches the ball then flips it back inbounds b)he bats the the ball back inbounds. In both scenarios, he comes back inbounds and picks up the ball(first to touch it).

Any call on either scenario?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 05, 2007, 09:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 119
OK. Maybe I found the answer.

A is a violation due to having control while B is not a violation. Correct?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 05, 2007, 10:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by cshs81
A1 is chasing a ball to the sideline. As he's falling out of bounds, he a)catches the ball then flips it back inbounds b)he bats the the ball back inbounds. In both scenarios, he comes back inbounds and picks up the ball(first to touch it).

Any call on either scenario?
A) legal.

B). legal. If he batted the ball with a close fist it would be a violation.
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 05, 2007, 10:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie
A) legal.

B). legal. If he batted the ball with a close fist it would be a violation.
Legal in both and to make a quick point because I had this the other night:

Only needs 1 foot back on the court (the other can't be touching OOB) to be able to retrieve the ball.......and also can go ahead and dribble at that point.
__________________
Do you really think it matters, Eddy?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 05, 2007, 11:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by cshs81
A1 is chasing a ball to the sideline. As he's falling out of bounds, he a)catches the ball then flips it back inbounds
Has A1 lost his dribble in this case?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 05, 2007, 12:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by shave-tail
Has A1 lost his dribble in this case?

No. He's chasing an errant pass.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 05, 2007, 12:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by cshs81
No. He's chasing an errant pass.
He can continue to dribble, but he can't pick the ball up and start to dribble. The throw starts the dribble.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 05, 2007, 12:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie
A) legal.

B). legal. If he batted the ball with a close fist it would be a violation.
I would have assumed (BTW I'm not an official) that since the player in Scenario A had control (ie caught the ball with both hands before saving it) that it would be the same as throwing a pass and then being the first player to touch the ball after the pass was made. Not true?

Would it matter if A1 was airborne or not when he saved the ball inbounds?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 05, 2007, 12:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
He can continue to dribble, but he can't pick the ball up and start to dribble. The throw starts the dribble.
I'm assuming then by your post that that he can pick up the ball but not dribble. Correct?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 05, 2007, 12:44pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by cshs81
I would have assumed (BTW I'm not an official) that since the player in Scenario A had control (ie caught the ball with both hands before saving it) that it would be the same as throwing a pass and then being the first player to touch the ball after the pass was made. Not true?
Not true. It would be considered a fumble. And yes - that is also a basketball term.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 05, 2007, 12:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
Not true. It would be considered a fumble. And yes - that is also a basketball term.
My rulebook says a fumble is "the accidental loss of player control when the ball unintentionally drops or slips from a player's grasp."

That doesn't seem to apply here since in Scenario A that the player caught the ball then intentionally dropped/threw the ball inbounds.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 05, 2007, 12:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by cshs81
My rulebook says a fumble is "the accidental loss of player control when the ball unintentionally drops or slips from a player's grasp."

That doesn't seem to apply here since in Scenario A that the player caught the ball then intentionally dropped/threw the ball inbounds.
The toss back to the court (inbounds) is considered to be the start of the dribble. You're correct, this is NOT a fumble.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 05, 2007, 07:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,908
Quote:
Originally Posted by cshs81
I would have assumed (BTW I'm not an official) that since the player in Scenario A had control (ie caught the ball with both hands before saving it) that it would be the same as throwing a pass and then being the first player to touch the ball after the pass was made. Not true?

Would it matter if A1 was airborne or not when he saved the ball inbounds?
It is not a pass since it didn't go to another player. It can only be the start of a dribble (which is interruppted then resumed).
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 05, 2007, 08:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,643
7.1.1 SITUATION D: A1 jumps from inbounds to retrieve an errant pass near a boundary line. A1 catches the ball while in the air and tosses it back to the court. A1 lands out of bounds and (a) is the first to touch the ball after returning inbounds; (b) returns inbounds and immediately dribbles the ball; or (c) picks up the ball after returning to the court and then begins a dribble. RULING: Legal in (a) and (b). Illegal in (c) as the controlled toss of the ball to the court by A1 constitutes the start of a dribble, dribbling a second time after picking up the ball is an illegal dribble violation. (4-15-5; 4-15-6d; 4-35; 9-5)
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 05, 2007, 09:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
It is not a pass since it didn't go to another player. ).

So, if I pass the ball but no one is near the pass I can go retrieve it? Are you sure?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coming Back Tomorrow Mountaineer Softball 2 Sun Sep 17, 2006 10:18am
Inbounds-Outofbounds-Inbounds??? BoBo Football 3 Fri Nov 04, 2005 11:28am
Coming back to haunt ya' - part II Mark Padgett Basketball 13 Sat Mar 15, 2003 09:46pm
Coming back to haunt ya' Mark Padgett Basketball 16 Thu Mar 13, 2003 05:13pm
Coming back inbounds after a save. bossref Basketball 29 Mon Dec 10, 2001 02:55pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1