The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 21, 2007, 03:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 71
Mechanics Question

In Federation 2 Person, when a violation ends in the result of a made basket, does the ball have to be handled?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 21, 2007, 03:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teigan
In Federation 2 Person, when a violation ends in the result of a made basket, does the ball have to be handled?
?...do you mean as in goal tending or BI where part of the penalty is points to the offended team? Do you mean handled by the official before the throw-in?
__________________
A late whistle is a great whistle
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 21, 2007, 03:55pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,675
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teigan
when a violation ends in the result of a made basket,
You mean like after defensive BI/GT? If so, then the answer to your question is yes, for 2-person or 3-person.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 21, 2007, 03:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 71
I mean if someone travels on a layup, and the basket goes in....Do you have to handle the ball prior to it being thrown in!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 21, 2007, 03:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teigan
I mean if someone travels on a layup, and the basket goes in....Do you have to handle the ball prior to it being thrown in!
Anytime an official blows a whistle an official must handle it before it becomes live again. I believe there is an exception in FIBA...I could be wrong though.
__________________
A late whistle is a great whistle
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 21, 2007, 04:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by JLMatthew
Anytime an official blows a whistle an official must handle it before it becomes live again. I believe there is an exception in FIBA...I could be wrong though.
There used to be an exception, when the throw-in was in the backcourt. It has been cancelled many years ago. After a whistle, an official must hand (or bounce) the ball to the player for the throw-in. It is not required only after a basket, if there is no substitution or time-out.

Ciao
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 21, 2007, 03:58pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teigan
I mean if someone travels on a layup, and the basket goes in....Do you have to handle the ball prior to it being thrown in!
Handled by whom? The official or the player?

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 21, 2007, 04:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 71
the official
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 21, 2007, 04:08pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,539
All basic rule sets in the United States (NF, NCAA and Pro Ball), the officials handle the ball on every dead ball after a violation. Who cares what FEEBLE does?

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 21, 2007, 04:38pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,307
"In The Good Old Days"

From Teigan:

"I mean if someone travels on a layup, and the basket goes in, do you have to handle the ball prior to it being thrown in"

For those of us who have been around more than twenty-five years and still have the faculties to remember things from "The Good Old Days":

Remember, more than twenty-years ago, when a ball went in the basket and the basket would not count, i.e. travel before the basket, offensive basket interference, offensive free throw violation, etc., the proper mechanic at the time was to give the defensive team the throw in at a spot on the new backcourt sideline at the foul line extended. The purpose of the mechanic was to let the table know that the basket didn't count. For extra credit, who can tell us when this mechanic changed ?

"Pepperridge Farm Remembers".
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 21, 2007, 06:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 1,955
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teigan
In Federation 2 Person, when a violation ends in the result of a made basket, does the ball have to be handled?
___________________________

Teigan, You might want to work on being more detailed in your wording when posting... but I understand what you are asking.. Yes, every time.
__________________
That's my whistle -- and I'm sticking to it!

Last edited by refnrev; Sun Jan 21, 2007 at 11:03pm.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 21, 2007, 06:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 21
Mechanics Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teigan
In Federation 2 Person, when a violation ends in the result of a made basket, does the ball have to be handled?
Yes !!! This is a Traveling Violation !!!!! The ball becomes dead. No basket. First blow the whistle and raise open hand in the air as far as possible. Pause and then signal for traveling while saying "traveling". Next, point in the direction of the defenses basket and say "blue" (or whatever the color of the defense). Point to the nearest spot out of bounds and say "spot" -usually on the endline for this traveling violation situation. Have one of the players hand the ball to you. Let the defensive team get set i.e. subs, full court pressure, match-ups etc. Then hand the ball to the thrower at the spot and start a 5 sec count. Key: The basket does not count because of the traveling violation and is not relevant to the procedure for what will happen next (as if the ball was never shot)........... keep callin'
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 21, 2007, 06:38pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Giacoma
1) Pause and then signal for traveling while saying "traveling".

2) Let the defensive team get set i.e. subs, full court pressure, match-ups etc.
1) There is no real need to say anything. Just the signal is fine.

2) Completely wrong mechanic. You administer the throw-in as soon as the thrower is set. You do NOT allow the defense extra time to set up a press or get match-ups. The only time that you delay the throw-in is for substitution.

Btw, you only hand the ball to the thrower on the offensive endline too. Bounce the ball to the thrower at other throw-in locations.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 21, 2007, 06:40pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,307
Pepperridge Farm Remembers

Pepperridge Farm Remembers

Have you been watching Family Guy lately?

Yes. That's where I got it from.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 25, 2007, 03:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 12
Question Running Baseline

If the official calls a violation (defensive BI/Goaltending) can the team that offended run the baseline or is it a spot throw-in? Any references would be greatly appreciated.
__________________
A MAN WHO STANDS FOR NOTHING WILL FALL FOR ANYTHING~Malcolm X
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A question on a play and a mechanics question. aevans410 Baseball 11 Mon May 12, 2008 09:23am
Rule Question and Mechanics Question Stair-Climber Softball 15 Fri May 06, 2005 06:44am
Question about 3-man mechanics Lotto Basketball 2 Sat Nov 20, 2004 08:12pm
Mechanics Question VaASAump Softball 21 Mon Apr 12, 2004 06:00am
Mechanics question Adam Basketball 23 Thu Jan 30, 2003 12:32am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1