The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 06, 2004, 06:17am
VaASAump
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
OK. Here's a mechanics question.

R1 on 2b. R2 on 1b. One out. B3 hits an infield fly. Kinda windy, but F4 only takes two steps and waits for fly ball. BU raises right arm with closed fist (infield fly rule signal). PU sees BU's raised arm, but elects not to invoke infield fly rule. Ball falls untouched. Now R1 advances to 3b, where she is ruled out by force (F4 retrieved ball and threw to F5, who was standing on 3b).

After wards, PU tells defensive coach that, in his judgement, F4 did not get to ball with little effort. Conditions were too windy (huh?).

Question: Who's call is infield fly? And what do you do as BU if, in your judgement, it is an infield fly and you have already given the signal (but not vocalized)?

Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1