![]() |
Mechanics Question
In Federation 2 Person, when a violation ends in the result of a made basket, does the ball have to be handled?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
I mean if someone travels on a layup, and the basket goes in....Do you have to handle the ball prior to it being thrown in!
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
the official:)
|
All basic rule sets in the United States (NF, NCAA and Pro Ball), the officials handle the ball on every dead ball after a violation. Who cares what FEEBLE does? :D
Peace |
"In The Good Old Days"
From Teigan:
"I mean if someone travels on a layup, and the basket goes in, do you have to handle the ball prior to it being thrown in" For those of us who have been around more than twenty-five years and still have the faculties to remember things from "The Good Old Days": Remember, more than twenty-years ago, when a ball went in the basket and the basket would not count, i.e. travel before the basket, offensive basket interference, offensive free throw violation, etc., the proper mechanic at the time was to give the defensive team the throw in at a spot on the new backcourt sideline at the foul line extended. The purpose of the mechanic was to let the table know that the basket didn't count. For extra credit, who can tell us when this mechanic changed ? "Pepperridge Farm Remembers". |
"For those of us who have been around more than twenty-five years..."
Sorry man, I'm only 25 years old...I didn't know they played basketball that far back. : ) |
Peachbasket
I was the custodian who hung up the peachbasket for Dr.Naismith at the YMCA in Springfield, Massachusetts.
|
Quote:
Ciao |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
For many years there was no baseline throw-in in FIBA, except after baskets, just for the same reason. Players still can't have jerseys numbered 1, 2 and 3, in order to "avoid confusion with the table".:( I ask myself: how do they do in the USA? Are they always called back by the scorekeeper to make clear if it was "foul by number 2" or "2 free throws"? Do scorekeepers mark a foul on player #3 if they see an official who calls and signals "3 seconds"? I guess not.;) Ciao |
Quote:
Teigan, You might want to work on being more detailed in your wording when posting... but I understand what you are asking.. Yes, every time. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:04pm. |