![]() |
|
|
|||
Basket Interference Problem
I'm having trouble explaining the BI rule to two fellow officials. The situation is A1 goes for a layup, B1 tries to block, misses the ball but shakes the backboard enough to effect the shot. This is a T by 10-3-5 (a or b) but not BI. Case 10.3.5 is close, but not exact.
They aren't getting the point of BI needing to include the basket, but the backboard and basket are not the same (by rule). Any suggestions on explanation of this rule? |
|
|||
Sounds to me like you explained it pretty well, and it's their problem not yours. "What is it about 'no' that you don't understand?"
Tell them they can either apply to work for Billy Packer or quit listening to him, one or the other. How hard could it could be to say, "BI doesn't include the backboard. Period." Well, it's not hard, and you're doing fine. Ask them why it's so darn hard to understand. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
It is clearly spelled out in the rule book. This is not BI, nor is it a 'T' since it was a legitimate attempt to block a shot.
If luke wants to explain BI to his partners then he needs to come up with an entirely different scenario.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
I'm not worrying about explaining BI in its entirety, just only in this situation. |
|
|||
Quote:
I don't think 10-3-5a necessarily applies here. I tend to infer that this is in place to prevent a player from pushing off the backboard or ring to gain an advantage in position. (Only a possible scenario, JMO). What you are using to justify the call under 10-3-5a is specifically addressed, and allowed, by 10-3-5b. The key word in 10-3-5b is intentionally. This is a most likely going to be a judgement call by the official if he was playing the ball, and not an automatic T because of the contact. Last edited by PYRef; Thu Jan 04, 2007 at 09:12pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
See case book play 10.3.5. |
|
|||
If it's a legit try for the block and the player unintentionally slaps the backboard it's a no call. Just because it looks like a duck and quacks like aduck doesn't always mean you have to call it a duck....is that a bad comparison?
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
LukeAlex you have no chance of winning this battle. RUN AWAY! I tried to fight this one a little while back, but could not pierce the hard headed armour. Most everybody on here, myself NOT included, will tell you that since it is considered a legitimate attempt at a block that it can't be BI nor a T, no matter how hard the kid shook the backboard. I say even though you thought it was legit attempt at a block and you also thought the basket had a possibility of going in had the backboard and rim not gotten shaken to high hell, that you give the kid the T, and just tell everyone you thought he slapped it intentionally. No one would ever know what you thought. The only thing they could say is they thought he was making a legit block attempt, and in that case who cares what they think. You JUDGED the play like refs are supposed to do and in your judgement he "intentionally" slapped the backboard and are thereby supported by rule. That's just me though.
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Basket Interference | johnnyrao | Basketball | 3 | Tue Jan 24, 2006 02:43am |
Basket Interference | ScifiREF | Basketball | 3 | Thu Oct 06, 2005 07:00am |
Basket Interference? | devdog69 | Basketball | 13 | Mon Jul 04, 2005 01:53am |
Basket Interference | tjchamp | Basketball | 12 | Tue Sep 14, 2004 09:15am |
basket interference | Ralph Stubenthal | Basketball | 17 | Thu May 29, 2003 11:23am |