View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 04, 2007, 09:11pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukealex
Using 10-3-5 (a or b), a T is warranted. Striking the backboard to gain an advantage. If the striking of the backboard rattles the whole structure (including the basket) the movement could cause the shot to be missed.
No, it is NOT warranted and it is NOT a technical foul if the defender rattles the board while legitimately trying to block a shot. Ever! How hard the board is hit, whether the board shakes or what the shot does after the board is hit are not relevant in any way, rules-wise. The only judgement on the play is whether the defender was legitimately trying to block the shot. If so---->no call.

See case book play 10.3.5.
Reply With Quote