Quote:
Originally Posted by lukealex
I'm having trouble explaining the BI rule to two fellow officials. The situation is A1 goes for a layup, B1 tries to block, misses the ball but shakes the backboard enough to effect the shot. This is a T by 10-3-5 (a or b) but not BI. Case 10.3.5 is close, but not exact.
They aren't getting the point of BI needing to include the basket, but the backboard and basket are not the same (by rule). Any suggestions on explanation of this rule?
|
I wouldn't have BI, period. Only way I would have a tee would be a timing issue. If it is a bang bang play where b1 is legit on his attempt to block the shot I would have nothing. If a1 lays it up and it is hanging on the rim and b1 then comes through and slaps the back board i may have a tee, otherwise nothing...