View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 04, 2007, 08:10pm
lukealex lukealex is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Columbia, MD
Posts: 298
Send a message via AIM to lukealex
Basket Interference Problem

I'm having trouble explaining the BI rule to two fellow officials. The situation is A1 goes for a layup, B1 tries to block, misses the ball but shakes the backboard enough to effect the shot. This is a T by 10-3-5 (a or b) but not BI. Case 10.3.5 is close, but not exact.

They aren't getting the point of BI needing to include the basket, but the backboard and basket are not the same (by rule). Any suggestions on explanation of this rule?
Reply With Quote