The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 23, 2006, 04:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
If that play happens in your game: what's your call?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 23, 2006, 04:21pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Travel. The restrictions on what a player may do after lifting his pivot foot are explicit, and the rule doesn't allow for a player to lift his pivot foot and then fumble.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 23, 2006, 10:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
O.K. New play, same situation:

A1 comes to a stop after dribbling. Shot fakes, with both feet on the ground (feet never leave ground, i.e: he does not appear to be jumping for a try) ... the ball rockets out and straight upward.

Can A1 move and catch the ball and if so do what?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 24, 2006, 12:05am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Pass, call time-out, or shoot. He gets to establish a new pivot foot. He does not get a new dribble.

Change it slightly. He takes one step with his non-pivot foot and lifts his pivot foot; then fumbles. I've got a travel for the same reason I do on the airborne fumble.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 24, 2006, 07:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Change it slightly. He takes one step with his non-pivot foot and lifts his pivot foot; then fumbles. I've got a travel for the same reason I do on the airborne fumble.
Adam,
Calling a travel here based upon 4-44-3a runs into the same argument as the airborne player situation of 4-44-3b. Namely, all of the prescribed limits on foot movement in 4-44 only apply to a player "while holding the ball." It says so right there in the first sentence.

In your play once the player fumbles he is no longer holding the ball. Therefore, the traveling doesn't apply.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 24, 2006, 12:16pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
I'm not sure I agree. The limits control what a player may do after lifting his pivot foot. Starting a dribble does not constitute "holding the ball," yet you call him for traveling if he starts it after raising the pivot foot.
Like I said, I'm still willing to think this through.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 24, 2006, 12:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
While it is true that that is traveling, it is not because of 4-44-3a, but rather part c which specifically states that action is illegal.

There is no such specific statement for a fumble.

If I were to apply the same logic you used here, "The restrictions on what a player may do after lifting his pivot foot are explicit,..." to 4-44-3c, then I would point out that this rule is also explicit and it only forbids starting a dribble after lifting the pivot foot. It does not say that the pivot foot may not be lifted before the ball is released when fumbled!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 24, 2006, 07:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
O.K. New play, same situation:

A1 comes to a stop after dribbling. Shot fakes, with both feet on the ground (feet never leave ground, i.e: he does not appear to be jumping for a try) ... the ball rockets out and straight upward.

Can A1 move and catch the ball and if so do what?
4.15.4 SITUATION D: While dribbling: (a) A1 bats the ball over the head of an opponent, runs around the opponent, bats the ball to the floor and continues to dribble; (b) the ball bounces away but A1 is able to get to it and continues to dribble; (c) the ball hits A1's foot and bounces away but A1 is able to overtake and pick it up; or (d) A1 fumbles the ball in ending the dribble so that A1 must run to recover it. RULING: Violation in (a), because the ball was touched twice by A1's hand(s) during a dribble, before it touched the floor. In (b), even though the dribble was interrupted it has not ended and A1 may continue the dribble. In (c), the dribble ended when A1 caught the ball; and it ended in (d) when it was fumbled. Even though the dribble has ended in (c) and (d), A1 may recover the ball. (9-5)

After recovering, the only thing this player may not do is dribble again. That would be a double dribble violation.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FT - ball gets away from shooter Rich Basketball 12 Mon Feb 20, 2006 01:22am
Fouled shooter recaptures ball TriggerMN Basketball 27 Sun Jan 15, 2006 11:42pm
Ball drops after passing hip. Rattlehead Softball 5 Wed Aug 17, 2005 08:26am
Foul away from shooter, ball in air lukealex Basketball 1 Mon Feb 28, 2005 04:29pm
shooter goes out of bounds and comes back in and gets ball timharris Basketball 2 Sun Mar 16, 2003 09:28pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1