The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Shooter Unintentionally Drops the Ball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/30394-shooter-unintentionally-drops-ball.html)

cshs81 Fri Dec 22, 2006 10:50am

Shooter Unintentionally Drops the Ball
 
A1 goes up for a shot. As he's going up, the ball slips from his hands and goes straight up in the air.

1. Can the shooter catch it?
2. If so, is he restricted in any way once he catches it as far as dribbling? Is it treated like any other missed shot?

Adam Fri Dec 22, 2006 11:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by cshs81
A1 goes up for a shot. As he's going up, the ball slips from his hands and goes straight up in the air.

1. Can the shooter catch it?
2. If so, is he restricted in any way once he catches it as far as dribbling? Is it treated like any other missed shot?

It's a fumble, not a rebound. He may recover. If he's already used his dribble, he cannot dribble again.

rbruno Fri Dec 22, 2006 11:14am

If A-1 catches the ball and then returns to the floor I would call it a traveling violation.

cshs81 Fri Dec 22, 2006 11:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbruno
If A-1 catches the ball and then returns to the floor I would call it a traveling violation.

Can you not catch a fumble?

Scrapper1 Fri Dec 22, 2006 11:59am

In college, this is explicitly allowed. There was a case play released on it early this season.

In high school, it is not explicitly addressed, as far as I know. But I would agree with Snaqwells that it is legal.

rbruno Fri Dec 22, 2006 12:03pm

you can catch a fumble if both feet are on the floor. Not sure this is a fumble as he is an airborn shooter. it's a travel because he left his feet

Scrapper1 Fri Dec 22, 2006 12:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbruno
Not sure this is a fumble as he is an airborn shooter.

I disagree. To be an airborne shooter, you have release the ball on a try. That didn't happen here.

Adam Fri Dec 22, 2006 12:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbruno
you can catch a fumble if both feet are on the floor.


What's the rule reference for this restriction?

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbruno
Not sure this is a fumble as he is an airborn shooter.


No, he's not an airborne shooter. He never shot the ball. The rule says nothing about an airborne shooter fumbling, because it's inherently impossible; you can't fumble a ball that's been released for a shot.

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbruno
it's a travel because he left his feet

Based on what?

Jurassic Referee Fri Dec 22, 2006 01:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
In college, this is explicitly allowed. There was a case play released on it early this season.

In high school, it is not explicitly addressed, as far as I know. But I would agree with Snaqwells that it is legal.

I disagree. It's traveling.

Another old thread....argued <i>ad infinitum, ad nauseum</i>......to no definitive agreement.

jcarter Fri Dec 22, 2006 04:11pm

I believe there is a situation in the High School case book in regards to this. I will look it up when I get home. But off the top of my head I believe it is to the effect of, If you believe that this is an attempt at a try, then yes he can catch it and reestablish a pivot foot but can not dribble.

Jurassic Referee Fri Dec 22, 2006 04:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jcarter
I believe there is a situation in the High School case book in regards to this. I will look it up when I get home. But off the top of my head I believe it is to the effect of, If you believe that this is an attempt at a try, then yes he can catch it and reestablish a pivot foot but can not dribble.

Case book play 4.44SitB is what you're looking for. The player can dribble again though. New player and team control was established. The case play is only valid for a "try" though, not a "fumble".

Adam Fri Dec 22, 2006 04:28pm

Let me change this slightly. A1 picks up his pivot foot, ready to shoot but fumbles instead. Can he put down his pivot foot and then recover the ball without traveling? Can he recover the ball and then put down his pivot foot?

Nevadaref Fri Dec 22, 2006 10:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
I disagree. It's traveling.

Another old thread....argued ad infinitum, ad nauseum......to no definitive agreement.

I too recall that discussion. I believe that Bob Jenkins posted an interp from 2000-01 which stated that this was a traveling violation under NFHS rules.

BTW, I had argued that it was a legal play.

So Bob, how about posting ALL of the interps from that year in a separate thread? Please! :) Thanks.

BktBallRef Fri Dec 22, 2006 11:47pm

http://forum.officiating.com/showthread.php?t=27472

Adam Sat Dec 23, 2006 12:29am

Okay, I think I see how this is traveling. Since a fumble is not one of the allowed actions a player may take after lifting his pivot foot, it should be a travel. However, I don't think it depends on whether the fumbler is the first to recover the ball after he lands. It's either a travel right away, or she can recover it without penalty.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1