The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 22, 2006, 10:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 119
Shooter Unintentionally Drops the Ball

A1 goes up for a shot. As he's going up, the ball slips from his hands and goes straight up in the air.

1. Can the shooter catch it?
2. If so, is he restricted in any way once he catches it as far as dribbling? Is it treated like any other missed shot?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 22, 2006, 11:10am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by cshs81
A1 goes up for a shot. As he's going up, the ball slips from his hands and goes straight up in the air.

1. Can the shooter catch it?
2. If so, is he restricted in any way once he catches it as far as dribbling? Is it treated like any other missed shot?
It's a fumble, not a rebound. He may recover. If he's already used his dribble, he cannot dribble again.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 22, 2006, 11:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 82
If A-1 catches the ball and then returns to the floor I would call it a traveling violation.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 22, 2006, 11:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbruno
If A-1 catches the ball and then returns to the floor I would call it a traveling violation.
Can you not catch a fumble?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 22, 2006, 11:59am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,370
In college, this is explicitly allowed. There was a case play released on it early this season.

In high school, it is not explicitly addressed, as far as I know. But I would agree with Snaqwells that it is legal.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 22, 2006, 12:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 82
you can catch a fumble if both feet are on the floor. Not sure this is a fumble as he is an airborn shooter. it's a travel because he left his feet
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 22, 2006, 12:21pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,370
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbruno
Not sure this is a fumble as he is an airborn shooter.
I disagree. To be an airborne shooter, you have release the ball on a try. That didn't happen here.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 22, 2006, 12:26pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbruno
you can catch a fumble if both feet are on the floor.

What's the rule reference for this restriction?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rbruno
Not sure this is a fumble as he is an airborn shooter.

No, he's not an airborne shooter. He never shot the ball. The rule says nothing about an airborne shooter fumbling, because it's inherently impossible; you can't fumble a ball that's been released for a shot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rbruno
it's a travel because he left his feet
Based on what?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 22, 2006, 01:45pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
In college, this is explicitly allowed. There was a case play released on it early this season.

In high school, it is not explicitly addressed, as far as I know. But I would agree with Snaqwells that it is legal.
I disagree. It's traveling.

Another old thread....argued ad infinitum, ad nauseum......to no definitive agreement.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 22, 2006, 04:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 84
I believe there is a situation in the High School case book in regards to this. I will look it up when I get home. But off the top of my head I believe it is to the effect of, If you believe that this is an attempt at a try, then yes he can catch it and reestablish a pivot foot but can not dribble.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 22, 2006, 04:15pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcarter
I believe there is a situation in the High School case book in regards to this. I will look it up when I get home. But off the top of my head I believe it is to the effect of, If you believe that this is an attempt at a try, then yes he can catch it and reestablish a pivot foot but can not dribble.
Case book play 4.44SitB is what you're looking for. The player can dribble again though. New player and team control was established. The case play is only valid for a "try" though, not a "fumble".
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 22, 2006, 04:28pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Let me change this slightly. A1 picks up his pivot foot, ready to shoot but fumbles instead. Can he put down his pivot foot and then recover the ball without traveling? Can he recover the ball and then put down his pivot foot?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 22, 2006, 10:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,441
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
I disagree. It's traveling.

Another old thread....argued ad infinitum, ad nauseum......to no definitive agreement.
I too recall that discussion. I believe that Bob Jenkins posted an interp from 2000-01 which stated that this was a traveling violation under NFHS rules.

BTW, I had argued that it was a legal play.

So Bob, how about posting ALL of the interps from that year in a separate thread? Please! Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 22, 2006, 11:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,613
Travel?
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 23, 2006, 12:29am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Okay, I think I see how this is traveling. Since a fumble is not one of the allowed actions a player may take after lifting his pivot foot, it should be a travel. However, I don't think it depends on whether the fumbler is the first to recover the ball after he lands. It's either a travel right away, or she can recover it without penalty.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FT - ball gets away from shooter Rich Basketball 12 Mon Feb 20, 2006 01:22am
Fouled shooter recaptures ball TriggerMN Basketball 27 Sun Jan 15, 2006 11:42pm
Ball drops after passing hip. Rattlehead Softball 5 Wed Aug 17, 2005 08:26am
Foul away from shooter, ball in air lukealex Basketball 1 Mon Feb 28, 2005 04:29pm
shooter goes out of bounds and comes back in and gets ball timharris Basketball 2 Sun Mar 16, 2003 09:28pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1