The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 18, 2006, 01:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmokeEater
I'm assuming there was no time off the clock because the travel must have been called prior to establishing possession inbounds.
The clock should be running after a made basket.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 18, 2006, 01:51pm
MABO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MB, Canada
Posts: 796
True Nuff, unless in the last minute of the game, or after free throws. Yea I know I am adding my own twist to OP.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!"

All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 18, 2006, 01:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 177
The clock stops in the last minute of a game??
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 18, 2006, 01:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by David M
The clock should be running after a made basket.
Always?
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 18, 2006, 02:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
clock runs after a made basekt no matter what the time.

also dont forget should you have a foul on the defense during the throw in -- that is before the throw in can be completed -- and the resulting spot for the throw in is the endline -- the team retains the right to run the endline. Now of course the clock will not be running - if it is you or your partner should chase after it before it leaves the building.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 19, 2006, 04:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
Sorry forgot to let you know clock was stopped due to a T.O.. Also clock started when A1 passed to A2 (both player still OOB). Original time was put back on the clock.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 19, 2006, 12:43pm
PYRef
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by msp8514
Sorry forgot to let you know clock was stopped due to a T.O.. Also clock started when A1 passed to A2 (both player still OOB). Original time was put back on the clock.
Does the clock start on the pass to the other OOB teammate when they have the privelege of running the endline?
I would imagine that this would fit the scenario discussed at length on a previous thread about throw-in administration and when a throw-in ends?? ie: the throw-in ends when the ball is touched by a player who is IB or OOB.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 19, 2006, 01:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
no the clock does not start -- this throw in does not end -- unitl it touches a temmate in bounds -- or OOB on any line except the endline where the throw in is occureing -- or if it touches an opponent inbounds or OOB.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 19, 2006, 01:14pm
PYRef
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks deecee, that's what I thought. So in the post by msp8514, the time was put back on the clock because it was started inadvertantly on the OOB pass to the teammate?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 19, 2006, 02:08pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee
no the clock does not start -- this throw in does not end -- unitl it touches a temmate in bounds -- or OOB on any line except the endline where the throw in is occureing -- or if it touches an opponent inbounds or OOB.
Just to clarify and add an exception to what you've just stated - A teammate who is not taking part in the throw-in (say one who is has his/her back turned to the thrower and has out of bounds status) touches or is touched by the ball, it's a throw-in violation by A, the throw-in ends, and it's B's ball at the spot nearest the violation.
Quote:
Originally Posted by PYRef
Thanks deecee, that's what I thought. So in the post by msp8514, the time was put back on the clock because it was started inadvertantly on the OOB pass to the teammate?
Inadvertantly or incorrectly, yes.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 19, 2006, 11:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee
clock runs after a made basekt no matter what the time.

also dont forget should you have a foul on the defense during the throw in -- that is before the throw in can be completed -- and the resulting spot for the throw in is the endline -- the team retains the right to run the endline. Now of course the clock will not be running - if it is you or your partner should chase after it before it leaves the building.
The clock runs, yet time flies. I'm soooo confused.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 19, 2006, 02:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Southeastern Illinois
Posts: 56
Ok
1. Made Basket.
2. Time Out.
3. A1 has the right to run the endline to throw-in.
4. A1 throws to A2 who is OOB along the endline.
5. A2 now has a spot throw-in where the ball was caught. This is what I thought but reading other posts A2 can run the entire endline. I can't find anything in the NFHS that would stop A2 from running the endline.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 19, 2006, 03:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by illinoisbluezeb
Ok
1. Made Basket.
2. Time Out.
3. A1 has the right to run the endline to throw-in.
4. A1 throws to A2 who is OOB along the endline.
5. A2 now has a spot throw-in where the ball was caught. This is what I thought but reading other posts A2 can run the entire endline. I can't find anything in the NFHS that would stop A2 from running the endline.
That is because there is nothing to stop A2 from running the endline
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Travel? Dan_ref Basketball 25 Fri Nov 11, 2005 10:56am
Travel or Not?? ref18 Basketball 2 Wed Jan 21, 2004 08:50pm
No Travel, Just Kidding Travel Kas v Arz fletch_irwin_m Basketball 49 Tue Apr 08, 2003 06:23pm
Travel or not williebfree Basketball 1 Mon Jan 13, 2003 12:54am
Travel or not? Bchill24 Basketball 6 Fri Nov 08, 2002 07:22pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1