The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 10, 2006, 03:24pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gimlet25id
I'm sorry guys I don't see a problem with the way this was handled. Even though the admin. official announced 1 & 1 the calling official knew it was 2 shots. I'm thinking the best thing to do is blow your whistle and just simply announce 1 more shot with the box filled. This doesn't seem any different then when a official announces 2 shots form the get go and the low blocks forget that it is 2 shots and immediately go in for a rebound. We would just simply remind them of the fact we are shooting 2.

Now if the calling official and the admin. official both said 1 & 1 when it should've been 2 & B rebounds with no whistle and play continues with time coming off the clock then I can see invoking Rule 2-10. In the case the calling official said he hit his whistle immediately. Why not go ahead and line them up and give the other shot?

I keep looking at the case book as I write this post. It sounds like either would work. I guess it all depends when the calling official hit his whistle to stop play. I think whether I go correctable or not would be if time ran off the clock. If no time runs off and my whistle or the whistle is right before or either right @ the rebound being controlled would dictate the ruling. It seems easiest, if you can get by with it, to line them back up and shoot the other throw.
Agreed. The case book play which dealt with the opposite of this situation points out that action was necessary because the misinformation put someone at a disadvantage. In this case that is not true. Shoot the other free throw and forget it.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 10, 2006, 03:39pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
I'm leaning towards the correctable error situation now. Otherwise, B is cheated out of a rebound they earned.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 10, 2006, 03:46pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
I'm leaning towards the correctable error situation now. Otherwise, B is cheated out of a rebound they earned.
There was no rebound to get. Ball was dead, and played as dead by the lead official.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 10, 2006, 03:50pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
There was no rebound to get. Ball was dead, and played as dead by the lead official.
And what rule made the ball dead before the official blew his whistle?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 10, 2006, 05:49pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
And what rule made the ball dead before the official blew his whistle?

The rule which states that you get 2 free throws after the 10th foul.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 10, 2006, 05:59pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
The rule which states that you get 2 free throws after the 10th foul.
And what do we call the rule that we use if we fail to give one of those 2 free throws that are due for a 10th. foul?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 10, 2006, 06:04pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
The rule which states that you get 2 free throws after the 10th foul.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
And what do we call the rule that we use if we fail to give one of those 2 free throws that are due for a 10th. foul?

Which thread have you been reading. They DIDN'T fail to give the second free throw. If they had, everything you say would apply, but nothing significant happened as a result of the wrong information.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 10, 2006, 03:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 15
Why didn't the calling official come in immediately to correct the lead official on the number of free throws?

Did both teams go after the rebound?

I agree that this meets the criteria for a correctable error.

Suppose that the teams were lined back up to shoot the second and A1 doinks it off the rim and A3 rebounds and gets a put back for two points.

Since B got the rebound on the first throw I think you clear the lane and continue from the POI.
__________________
Silence can't be quoted!

Last edited by Reffin' Sgt; Fri Nov 10, 2006 at 03:54pm.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 10, 2006, 03:54pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
The case book play which dealt with the opposite of this situation points out that action was necessary because the misinformation put someone at a disadvantage. In this case that is not true.
Not giving A1 his second merited FT wasn't putting him at a disadvantage?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 10, 2006, 05:54pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
The case book play which dealt with the opposite of this situation points out that action was necessary because the misinformation put someone at a disadvantage. In this case that is not true.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Not giving A1 his second merited FT wasn't putting him at a disadvantage?
That's the whole point I am trying to make. The lead blew his whistle, stopped the play, and immediately awarded him the second free throw.
Is it written somewhere that the one official giving erroneous information carries more weight than the real situation which is properly covered by the other official?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Correctable Error Time2Ref Basketball 9 Sat Mar 11, 2006 08:06am
Correctable error or not? 181174 Basketball 5 Fri Jan 13, 2006 09:56am
Correctable error mplagrow Basketball 9 Sun Jan 08, 2006 08:52am
correctable error? cardinalfan Basketball 9 Tue Jan 20, 2004 05:59pm
correctable error? zac Basketball 7 Thu Oct 10, 2002 08:52am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:22am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1