The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 06, 2006, 09:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 17
Rather New Official, Few Questions

Hey I am a rather new official (1 year experience) and I truly decided a little while ago that I am really going to try and go as far with this as possible. I decided to jump into the rule book and case book but have a few questions as I continue to read. I asure you, these will probably not be the last questions I have, but if any of you could answer even 1 question, that would help me a ton.
Question (1): How do you report a technical foul to the table for a player/coach. Once you give it to the coach, do you just walk away or do you turn around and say to the table technical foul, white head coach? Also, here is a situation. A6 (bench personel) yells at the ref and gets a technical foul. This means the head coach also gets an indirect. Correct me if I am wrong, but this only counts as 1 foul towards team foul count. How would you report this, do you say white 22, technical foul and then say indirect on white coach? Finally, if a player who is disqualified gets a technical foul, what happens?

Question (2): If a coach presents roster at 15 minutes before game and then at 12 minutes wants to add a team member, is this still a technical foul even though before 10 minute mark?

Question (3): If a team member becomes a player and then plays for 5 minutes, and then the officials realize he has the wrong number, is a technical foul still assesed or is it to late. Also, who is the technical given to?

Question (4): Not a rules question, but very important. Where do you officials look at when watching a player (arms and down?) Also, when off-ball do you focus on one matchup or what? What are some tips about this can any of you help me with?

Last Question: If A1 gets fouled and is about to get 2 shots. Then A1 gets a technical, what happens?

THANKS FOR EVERYTHING!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 06, 2006, 09:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by ATLBrvs326
Hey I am a rather new official (1 year experience) and I truly decided a little while ago that I am really going to try and go as far with this as possible. I decided to jump into the rule book and case book but have a few questions as I continue to read. I asure you, these will probably not be the last questions I have, but if any of you could answer even 1 question, that would help me a ton.
Question (1): How do you report a technical foul to the table for a player/coach. Once you give it to the coach, do you just walk away or do you turn around and say to the table technical foul, white head coach? Also, here is a situation. A6 (bench personel) yells at the ref and gets a technical foul. This means the head coach also gets an indirect. Correct me if I am wrong, but this only counts as 1 foul towards team foul count. How would you report this, do you say white 22, technical foul and then say indirect on white coach? Finally, if a player who is disqualified gets a technical foul, what happens?!
Stop clock (fist in air and whistle), signal T, and say, "Technical foul white coach" . Then look at partner, to be sure he sees what's happening, then go to the table, look at the book person and say, "Technical foul" while signalling with the T. Say, "White coach" while signalling a C. Then say, "Two shots". Check again with partner, and be sure he's got the right team lining up to shoot and that the lane is clear.

On bench personnel, same procedure, except that you also say quietly to the book person, "Will you just note that this is one indirect technical foul against the white coach?" Be sure she does it and does it in a way that will be usable later if necessary. Then proceed with shots.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATLBrvs326
Question (2): If a coach presents roster at 15 minutes before game and then at 12 minutes wants to add a team member, is this still a technical foul even though before 10 minute mark?!
Still legal. Nothing matters until the 10 minute mark!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATLBrvs326
Question (3): If a team member becomes a player and then plays for 5 minutes, and then the officials realize he has the wrong number, is a technical foul still assesed or is it to late. Also, who is the technical given to?
What Chuck said.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATLBrvs326

Question (4): Not a rules question, but very important. Where do you officials look at when watching a player (arms and down?) Also, when off-ball do you focus on one matchup or what? What are some tips about this can any of you help me with?!
When watching, you watch what's importnat at that moment. And that can change from second to second. You have to have a good view of every possible situation, and then home in on whatever needs attention. This skill improves drastically the first time you miss an obvious illegal screen while you are watching for a travel by a player who's standing still holding the ball. Then you'll develop another level of this skill the first time you miss a blatant double dribble, because you're trying to see whether the post player has his knee too far "in"!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATLBrvs326
Last Question: If A1 gets fouled and is about to get 2 shots. Then A1 gets a technical, what happens?

THANKS FOR EVERYTHING!
Penalize fouls in the order they occur. A1 shoots. Then any B player shoots the T shots, and B gets the ball oob at the midcourt line.

YOU'RE WELCOME FOR EVERYTHING!!

Last edited by rainmaker; Mon Nov 06, 2006 at 10:15pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 06, 2006, 10:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally Posted by ATLBrvs326
Question (1): How do you report a technical foul to the table for a player/coach. Once you give it to the coach, do you just walk away or do you turn around and say to the table technical foul, white head coach?
Definitely report it to the table. "White. Head Coach. Technical foul." Your partner should then remind the coach that s/he has lost the privilege of the coaching box, if your state uses one.

Quote:
A6 (bench personel) yells at the ref and gets a technical foul. This means the head coach also gets an indirect. Correct me if I am wrong, but this only counts as 1 foul towards team foul count.
You're exactly right. Only the direct technical foul (assessed to A6) counts toward the team foul count. The coach's indirect is marked in the book, but does not count toward the bonus.

Quote:
How would you report this, do you say white 22, technical foul and then say indirect on white coach?
"White 22. Technical foul. The foul also applies indirectly to the coach. Please record it in the book."

Quote:
Finally, if a player who is disqualified gets a technical foul, what happens?
Same thing as the previous question.

Quote:
Question (2): If a coach presents roster at 15 minutes before game and then at 12 minutes wants to add a team member, is this still a technical foul even though before 10 minute mark?
Nope. No penalty until after the 10 minute mark.

Quote:
Question (3): If a team member becomes a player and then plays for 5 minutes, and then the officials realize he has the wrong number, is a technical foul still assesed or is it to late. Also, who is the technical given to?
Not too late. The penalty is assessed when it is discovered, or when the book has to be changed to match the player's number. The technical is assessed to the team, not the player.

Quote:
Question (4): Where do you officials look at when watching a player (arms and down?)
Arms and down is probably a good description. I'm going to try to look "through" (between) the players, rather than looking directly at just one in many cases. On a shot attempt, I'm watching the defender's position, hands and arms. I want to see if the defender has established legal guarding position, so that if there's a crash, I will know if it's a block or a charge.

Quote:
Also, when off-ball do you focus on one matchup or what? What are some tips about this can any of you help me with?
You can't just focus on one matchup, although that may be the best you can do at first. You have to find the matchups that are being contested. In other words, you don't need to pay too much attention to 2 guys just standing next to each other if there are two guys duking it out for position on the other block. There might even be two or three matchups that you need to monitor (especially if you're working 2-whistle). But for starting out, find one matchup and watch it from beginning to end. That will help you establish an "off-ball" mindset.

Quote:
Last Question: If A1 gets fouled and is about to get 2 shots. Then A1 gets a technical, what happens?
The great thing about high school rules is that all fouls are penalized in the order in which they occur. So in your case. A1 shoots the 2 FTs with no one on the lane. Then anyone from Team B shoots 2 FTs for the technical and Team B gets the ball at midcourt, opposite the table.

Best of luck in your upcoming season. Work hard!
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 06, 2006, 11:38pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,307
Quote:
Originally Posted by ATLBrvs326
Question (1): How do you report a technical foul to the table for a player/coach. Once you give it to the coach, do you just walk away or do you turn around and say to the table technical foul, white head coach? Also, here is a situation. A6 (bench personel) yells at the ref and gets a technical foul. This means the head coach also gets an indirect. Correct me if I am wrong, but this only counts as 1 foul towards team foul count. How would you report this, do you say white 22, technical foul and then say indirect on white coach? Finally, if a player who is disqualified gets a technical foul, what happens?
You report the foul just like any other foul, except you give a technical foul signal to the table.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATLBrvs326
Question (2): If a coach presents roster at 15 minutes before game and then at 12 minutes wants to add a team member, is this still a technical foul even though before 10 minute mark?
What does the rule say? The rule says any change after 10 minutes. 12 minutes is not less than 10 minutes. Pretty simple if you really think about it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATLBrvs326
Question (3): If a team member becomes a player and then plays for 5 minutes, and then the officials realize he has the wrong number, is a technical foul still assesed or is it to late. Also, who is the technical given to?
You penalize when discovered and it would be a Team foul. Now any other mistakes like this cannot be penalized. You can only give one T per team for this infraction.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATLBrvs326
Question (4): Not a rules question, but very important. Where do you officials look at when watching a player (arms and down?) Also, when off-ball do you focus on one matchup or what? What are some tips about this can any of you help me with?
First of all you should always try to look into your coverage area first. If there are no players or competitive match-ups in your coverage area you should extent coverage to watch other players. You always want to watch the players that are close to each other and are apart of the play then those that are just standing around and are not moving or not competing for position and trying to make a play. There is no way I can explain what to look at very well on an internet board. All I can tell you is when you are working games, the more you understand the offenses the teams run and the defenses used to defend the offense; you will better learn what to watch. One of the reasons basketball is one of the hardest sports to officiate, is because there is a lot to focus on in a short period of time. What to watch and when to watch will take many games and watching many games you are not officiating.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATLBrvs326
Last Question: If A1 gets fouled and is about to get 2 shots. Then A1 gets a technical, what happens?
You shoot all the FTs in the order they took place. You have A1 shoot FTs first (if they were not DQ'd) then a team B player will shoot the FTs for the T. Then B will get the ball after all the FTs to put the ball back in play.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official Gear - ASA Official Pants Dakota Softball 10 Wed Apr 12, 2006 11:20am
One Official New AZ Ref Football 6 Fri Sep 24, 2004 09:46am
High School Official vs NCAA /College Official CLAY Basketball 22 Sat Feb 22, 2003 11:29pm
Official AB? cabman41 Baseball 1 Sun Jul 14, 2002 02:15am
A couple official scoring questions... SftballScorer Softball 1 Fri Apr 12, 2002 11:00pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1