The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2006, 03:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
Travel or Not?

If I am dribbling the ball and then take jump stop am I allowed to use my pivot foot? Is this a travel or not?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2006, 04:07pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by gshade03
If I am dribbling the ball and then take jump stop am I allowed to use my pivot foot? Is this a travel or not?
Not enough information to say. What do you mean by the term "jump stop"? When did you gather the ball ?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2006, 04:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by mick
Not enough information to say. What do you mean by the term "jump stop"? When did you gather the ball ?
And what do you mean by "use the pivot foot"?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2006, 04:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
If you catch the ball in the air and land on two feet, you may pivot.

If you catch the ball in the air and land on foot, you may then jump off that foot and land simultaneously on two feet. But then you may not pivot.

Hope that helps.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2006, 04:22pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckElias
If you catch the ball in the air and land on two feet, you may pivot.

If you catch the ball in the air and land on foot, you may then jump off that foot and land simultaneously on two feet. But then you may not pivot.

Hope that helps.
gshade03 was dribbling, not catching.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2006, 04:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by mick
gshade03 was dribbling, not catching.
Maybe he was doing both? Dribbling, then catching/gathering?

If that's the case, we need to know exactly when one stopped and the other occured.

If he was dribbling the whole time, jump stops and pivot feet would not apply, right?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2006, 05:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally Posted by mick
gshade03 was dribbling, not catching.
If he's dribbling, he can pivot all he wants and his question is irrelevant. I'm assuming that at some point he's going to pick up his dribble (i.e., catch the ball).
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2006, 08:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by gshade03
If I am dribbling the ball and then take jump stop am I allowed to use my pivot foot? Is this a travel or not?
i have received the ball, then i began to dribble towards the lane. I take a jump stop at the foul line, pick up the ball and both of my feet hit the floor at the same time. Can i then pivot (like keep one foot on the ground and turn to pass the ball to the wing)?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2006, 09:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 278
If you have completed a legal jump stop by landing simultaneously on both feet, you have no pivot foot. You may lift either foot but you must pass or dribble before returning the lifted foot to the floor. Lifting and returning the foot before passing or dribbling is a travel violation.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2006, 09:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 278
the prior post should have noted pass or shoot rather than pass or dribble.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2006, 10:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by gshade03
i have received the ball, then i began to dribble towards the lane. I take a jump stop at the foul line, pick up the ball and both of my feet hit the floor at the same time. Can i then pivot (like keep one foot on the ground and turn to pass the ball to the wing)?
It still depends on your definition of "jump stop". I'm assuming you mean that you jump and land on both feet. But I can't tell where in that process your dribble ends. Did you jump, land on both feet and then pick up the ball and then both feet hit the floor at the same time?? I'm confused...
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 27, 2006, 07:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Let me try this again. It's not hard.

If you end your dribble by catching the ball in the air and then land on two feet, you may pivot.

If you end your dribble by catching the ball in the air and land on one foot, you may then jump off that foot and land simultaneously on two feet. But then you may not pivot.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Not a travel--since when? mplagrow Basketball 19 Fri Feb 13, 2004 01:09pm
Travel or Not?? ref18 Basketball 2 Wed Jan 21, 2004 08:50pm
When is getting up a travel? CYO Butch Basketball 23 Tue Jan 20, 2004 11:28am
A travel or not a travel RefJeff Basketball 4 Wed Oct 01, 2003 12:19pm
No Travel, Just Kidding Travel Kas v Arz fletch_irwin_m Basketball 49 Tue Apr 08, 2003 06:23pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1