The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 04, 2006, 06:38am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by mick
JugglingReferee,
I dunno why it's too late to make the call.
Mick, after the missed violation, there was a shot and a rebound. That's just way too late to go back and try and do anything- especially when the rules won't allow you to do that in the first place, as per case book play 5.2.1SitF.

Just say "missed that one" and move on. If you set a precedent otherwise, then you're gonna have pandemonium out there.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 04, 2006, 06:48am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Mick, after the missed violation, there was a shot and a rebound. That's just way too late to go back and try and do anything- especially when the rules won't allow you to do that in the first place, as per case book play 5.2.1SitF.

Just say "missed that one" and move on. If you set a precedent otherwise, then you're gonna have pandemonium out there.
I dunno, JR.
5.2.1F has other considerations (ie., jumpers facing wrong direction, baskets scored).
I agree with saying "missed one", but I don't think a pan of ammonia is gonna be any bigger (everyone, by then, knew what happened) if you blow the call late and set the ball at the division line.
mick
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 04, 2006, 07:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 339
If I understand the post correctly, B get ball in their front court, he passes the center line and heads back, that is a BAck court violation. Isn't it?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 04, 2006, 07:53am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by REFVA
If I understand the post correctly, B get ball in their front court, he passes the center line and heads back, that is a BAck court violation. Isn't it?
REFVA,
Yeah that's the right call.
The question is:
  • If the play goes (temporarily) unoticed, can you (should you) make the violation call.
mick

unoticed? unnoticed? un-noticed?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 04, 2006, 08:03am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by mick

unoticed? unnoticed? un-noticed?
Where's Mister Annoying Pain-In-The-Azz Spelling Guy? The little sh!t is never around when you need him, is he?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 04, 2006, 08:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Where's Mister Annoying Pain-In-The-Azz Spelling Guy? The little sh!t is never around when you need him, is he?
Just for that, I'm not going to tell you which one is correct.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 04, 2006, 08:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckElias
Just for that, I'm not going to tell you which one is correct.
About time.

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 04, 2006, 09:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by mick
unoticed? unnoticed? un-noticed?
Actually, according to Dictionary.com, both unnoticed and un-noticed are listed, but un-noticed references unnoticed.

Did anyone else notice?

Signed,

Mr. Annoying Pain-In-The-Azz Spelling Guy's Capable Intern.

PS - mick, considering this was a middle school game, I might also consider calling the violation, even after the missed shots. But any level higher, I would have to say it's a missed call, and nothing, and just move on after correcting the direction the players were going. Also, depending on how and how much the other coach was complaining, I might consider letting it go as well. The coach might then get the impression he can have you go back and correct calls all game.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 04, 2006, 09:43am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy
The coach might then get the impression he can have you go back and correct calls all game.
M&M,
That would be a very short impression, methinks.
mick
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 04, 2006, 10:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by mick
M&M,
That would be a very short impression, methinks.
mick
I would hope so.

But why even give them a glimmer of hope?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 04, 2006, 04:13pm
Aleve Titles to Others
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Westchester of the Southern Conference
Posts: 5,381
Send a message via AIM to 26 Year Gap
Quote:
Originally Posted by mick
REFVA,
Yeah that's the right call.
The question is:
  • If the play goes (temporarily) unoticed, can you (should you) make the violation call.
mick

unoticed? unnoticed? un-noticed?
Not noticed
__________________
Never hit a piņata if you see hornets flying out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 04, 2006, 08:00am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by mick
I dunno, JR.
5.2.1F has other considerations (ie., jumpers facing wrong direction, baskets scored).
I agree with saying "missed one", but I don't think a pan of ammonia is gonna be any bigger (everyone, by then, knew what happened) if you blow the call late and set the ball at the division line.
mick
You gonna do the same thing for a missed travel? A missed OOB call? A missed anything?

Are you also gonna correct a correctable error that was actually just too late to correct, by rule?

If you do one, what's your rationale for not doing all of them?

Jmo, but I think that you're just setting yourself up for a whole buncha headaches if you start fixing up calls retroactively.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 04, 2006, 08:11am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
You gonna do the same thing for a missed travel? A missed OOB call? A missed anything?

Are you also gonna correct a correctable error that was actually just too late to correct, by rule?

If you do one, what's your rationale for not doing all of them?

Jmo, but I think that you're just setting yourself up for a whole buncha headaches if you start fixing up calls retroactively.
JR,
I dunno. Do you think I will ?
Yer just being irascible cuz your sitch don't work.

I was questioning the "too late" thingy.
When is too late ? After a score? --> sure. After 3 seconds? 5 seconds? 9 seconds?
mick
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 04, 2006, 09:39am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by mick
JR,

Yer just being irascible cuz your sitch don't work.
Irascible?

Moi?

Actually, I think that the language used in that case case play is relevant.

"Once the mistake is recognized, play shall continue with with each team attempting to score in it's own basket"

It's an official mistake in not recognizing the violation when it occurred. Just resume play at the POI.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 04, 2006, 09:48am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Irascible?

Moi?

Actually, I think that the language used in that case case play is relevant.

"Once the mistake is recognized, play shall continue with with each team attempting to score in it's own basket"

It's an official mistake in not recognizing the violation when it occurred. Just resume play at the POI.
JR,
Defending an improper sitch with that sentence?
To that I say, "Ha !"

My opinion of Jim Henry blowing to stop the play is that he did just fine.
And, if he (and his partner) had wanted to go "backcourt violation", that act would not have broken any rule.
mick
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Back Court - Right Call? MajorCord Basketball 2 Sat Feb 11, 2006 11:14pm
correctable call lot10 Basketball 10 Mon Feb 06, 2006 10:48am
Over and back call? JohnBark Basketball 8 Sun Oct 31, 2004 07:32am
IFR call would like to take back DownTownTonyBrown Softball 5 Thu Apr 22, 2004 11:46am
You make the call. Over and back - or not? Mark Padgett Basketball 22 Wed Jun 06, 2001 07:07pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1