The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 03, 2006, 11:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Yup, not correctable.

It would be good to point out to the complaining coach that you'd have given his team the same benefit of the doubt. He might as well learn to be a little flexible this early in the game.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 04, 2006, 01:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
As to the question of what if B scored:

A live ball passed through A's basket (as JugglingReferee pointed out, teams shoot at their own baskets in Fed), so A get two points. At this point you're going to hit the whistle, get everyone straightened out on which direction they're supposed to be going, and give the ball back to B for a throw-in anywhere along the A's endline.

You're going to want to do this rather quickly, before B's coach starts whining about how you should've called over and back and not given them the basket.

Just a couple of little twists for your consideration:
  • If B gets fouled while shooting at A's basket, the ball is dead immediately and B is not given any free throws even if the shot is unsuccessful (B would, however get free throws if B were in the bonus, but that was obviously not the case in the play you stated).
  • If B shoots at A's basket from behind the three point line, it only counts two points.
Both of these little quirks are because shooting at your opponent's basket is not considered a try.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 04, 2006, 12:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle
As to the question of what if B scored:

A live ball passed through A's basket (as JugglingReferee pointed out, teams shoot at their own baskets in Fed), so A get two points. At this point you're going to hit the whistle, get everyone straightened out on which direction they're supposed to be going, and give the ball back to B for a throw-in anywhere along the A's endline.

You're going to want to do this rather quickly, before B's coach starts whining about how you should've called over and back and not given them the basket.

Just a couple of little twists for your consideration:
  • If B gets fouled while shooting at A's basket, the ball is dead immediately and B is not given any free throws even if the shot is unsuccessful (B would, however get free throws if B were in the bonus, but that was obviously not the case in the play you stated).
  • If B shoots at A's basket from behind the three point line, it only counts two points.
Both of these little quirks are because shooting at your opponent's basket is not considered a try.
I think this is in-correct as a blanket statement. If A is playing defense on B, who is shooting at the wrong basket, B gets the points, you set everyone straight, then play on. This applies when both teams get turned around.
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 04, 2006, 12:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Are we still talking about the OP? Because in that play, the dribbler shot at his own basket, not the opponents. The dribbler headed the wrong way initially, but then ended up shooting in the correct basket.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 04, 2006, 12:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamIAm
I think this is in-correct as a blanket statement. If A is playing defense on B, who is shooting at the wrong basket, B gets the points, you set everyone straight, then play on. This applies when both teams get turned around.
This is what happens when I post at 2am. I TOTALLY mis-understood what I mis-read in the OP. I'll just sit in the corner and rock quietly for a while, shall I?
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 04, 2006, 05:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamIAm
I think this is in-correct as a blanket statement. If A is playing defense on B, who is shooting at the wrong basket, B gets the points, you set everyone straight, then play on. This applies when both teams get turned around.
Okay, after sufficient caffein intake, I'm now ready to take another crack at this. My final answer is: It depends

If the officials allow the teams to line up going the wrong way, then allow play to continue as if everyone had lined up correctly, then you are correct. That's this rule: "If by mistake the officials permit a team to go the wrong direction, when discovered all points scored, fouls committed, and time consumed shall count as if each team had gone the proper direction. Play shall resume with each team going the proper direction based on bench location."

If everybody lines up the right direction, there is a reasonable expectation that everybody knows which direction we're going. If a player then legally heads the wrong direction, you've got a different story. If that player scores in the wrong basket, the proper rule is this (my emphasis): "A successful try, tap or thrown ball that does not touch the floor, a teammate or official, from the field by a player who is located behind the team's own 19-foot, 9-inch line counts three points. Any other goal from the field counts two points for the team into whose basket the ball is thrown. See 4-5-4."

The question I imagined the OP asked was "what if rather than B coming back into their own frontcourt after having gone over the half line the first time, they stayed in their backcourt and scored at A's basket?" In that case, you live with your initial (kicked) no-call and the consequences. The consequences are A receives two points because a goal was scored at their basket. Then you kill the play, get them straightened out, and restart with B's throw-in from anywhere along A's endline.

I would further add these seemingly contradictory statements:
  • I think that the timeframe in which you can reasonably call the, at first unrealized, backcourt violation is be longer than normal in this case. To the point that if B had a break-away layup opportunity, I think you could still whistle the backcourt violation up until the time the ball leave's B's hand for the shot. I think you could sell that late call without much fuss.
  • As long as no other violation or foul occurs, you allow this play to continue to it's fruition. Start a really obvious 10 second count, and hope that bails you out.
Anybody take exception to that?
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 04, 2006, 07:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 275
Was this always a violation?

I seem to remember back about 35 years ago when I first started, there was a rule that on the opening jump, it was permissable for a team to gain control in the front court and pass it back into the back court to a teammate.

Does anyone else remember this, or am I just senile.
__________________
Damain
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 04, 2006, 10:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Does anyone else remember this, or am I just senile.

Yes.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 05, 2006, 02:12am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damian
I seem to remember back about 35 years ago when I first started, there was a rule that on the opening jump, it was permissable for a team to gain control in the front court and pass it back into the back court to a teammate.

Does anyone else remember this, or am I just senile.
No.

Yes.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Back Court - Right Call? MajorCord Basketball 2 Sat Feb 11, 2006 11:14pm
correctable call lot10 Basketball 10 Mon Feb 06, 2006 10:48am
Over and back call? JohnBark Basketball 8 Sun Oct 31, 2004 07:32am
IFR call would like to take back DownTownTonyBrown Softball 5 Thu Apr 22, 2004 11:46am
You make the call. Over and back - or not? Mark Padgett Basketball 22 Wed Jun 06, 2001 07:07pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1