The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 8 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 19, 2006, 04:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 86
KTJ, are you a ref here in Austin and/or just a Texas grad too?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 19, 2006, 04:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
>>Nowitski's right hand is clearly in Wade's back as he is releasing the ball.<<

Dude, don't make stuff up. Dirk's hand is a foot or more away from Wade BEFORE Wade released the ball.

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 19, 2006, 04:57pm
DPR DPR is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
check out harris' leg:


can someone totally clear up the backcourt thing? i still haven't heard a definitive rule on the situation that is understandable.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 19, 2006, 05:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie
>>Nowitski's right hand is clearly in Wade's back as he is releasing the ball.<<

Dude, don't make stuff up. Dirk's hand is a foot or more away from Wade BEFORE Wade released the ball.

AS HE'S RELEASING THE BALL, not AFTER HE'S RELEASED THE BALL. The contact has already occurred at this point and the ball is already out of his hand, Aggie. Nice try though!



ESPN idiots Tim Legler and Greg Anthony are explaining on SportsCenter how the throw-in was a BC violation that should have been called. Idiots.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith

Last edited by BktBallRef; Mon Jun 19, 2006 at 05:17pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 19, 2006, 05:21pm
DPR DPR is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
AS HE'S RELEASING THE BALL, not AFTER HE'S RELEASED THE BALL. The contact has already occurred at this point and the ball is already out of his hand, Aggie. Nice try though!



ESPN idiots Tim Legler and Greg Anthony are explaining on SportsCenter how the throw-in was a BC violation that should have been called. Idiots.
how wasn't it a backcourt violation? not saying i don't believe you, I think it wasn't a violation, but where does it clearly state it in the rulebook? I really want to know to shutup annoying Dallas fans .
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 19, 2006, 05:26pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by DPR
how wasn't it a backcourt violation? not saying i don't believe you, I think it wasn't a violation, but where does it clearly state it in the rulebook? I really want to know to shutup annoying Dallas fans .
Geeze, didn't you read the start of this thread?

Go back to the first page about 8:30am this morning. Not only was the NBA rule cited, it was spelled out by Chuck Elias at 9:02am. It's NBA rule VIg. Couldn't be clearer.

Lah me.....
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 19, 2006, 05:35pm
DPR DPR is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
wait were you talking about this:
g. Frontcourt/backcourt status is not attained until a player with the ball has established a positive position in either half during (1) a jump ball, (2) a steal by a defensive player, or (3) a throw-in in the last two minutes of the fourth period and/or any overtime period.

does that mean that your status, with the ball, if your in the air, is only attained once youve hit the ground and that it doesnt matter where you were without the ball?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 19, 2006, 05:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by DPR
wait were you talking about this:
g. Frontcourt/backcourt status is not attained until a player with the ball has established a positive position in either half during (1) a jump ball, (2) a steal by a defensive player, or (3) a throw-in in the last two minutes of the fourth period and/or any overtime period.

does that mean that your status, with the ball, if your in the air, is only attained once youve hit the ground and that it doesnt matter where you were without the ball?
YES!

The rule with regards to leaping from the FC, catching the ball and landing inthe BC is the same at HS, collegiate and professional levels. It's legal.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 19, 2006, 05:51pm
DPR DPR is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
but is there anyplace that explains this better? some people are still confused.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 19, 2006, 05:56pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by DPR
but is there anyplace that explains this better? some people are still confused.
We've explained it and also cited the rule word-for-word. If they're still confused, then they're gonna have to stay confused.

All anyone has to do is read the first page of this thread. If they can't understand it, they can't be helped.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 19, 2006, 06:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by DPR
but is there anyplace that explains this better? some people are still confused.
They aren't confused. They just refuse to believe that the play was correctly ruled on.

I don't know how to make it any simplier, DPR.

On a throw-in, a player can jump from his frontcourt, catch the ball and land in his backcourt. It's legal. That's what happened. It's that simple.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 19, 2006, 05:58pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by DPR
wait were you talking about this:
g. Frontcourt/backcourt status is not attained until a player with the ball has established a positive position in either half during (1) a jump ball, (2) a steal by a defensive player, or (3) a throw-in in the last two minutes of the fourth period and/or any overtime period.

does that mean that your status, with the ball, if your in the air, is only attained once youve hit the ground and that it doesnt matter where you were without the ball?
See posts from 10:47am and 10:50am this morning....

Lah me......
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt Violation USC04alum Basketball 5 Thu Feb 09, 2006 01:37pm
Backcourt violation or not stmaryrams Basketball 8 Wed Dec 21, 2005 07:32pm
backcourt violation discodaddy61 Basketball 5 Tue Dec 20, 2005 11:28am
Backcourt Violation BroD Basketball 15 Mon Mar 15, 2004 10:51am
Backcourt violation? jroche Basketball 34 Fri Dec 21, 2001 01:41pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1