The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 27, 2006, 01:55pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
[QUOTE=jeffpea]On the play in question, A1 was attempting a lay-up (which he missed) while A2 pushed B2 - whistle/foul on A2. A few seconds after the whistle, B3 held the ball out and dropped/pushed/bounced (what ever term you want to use) the ball off of A3's head (there was contact) - whistle/T.

The T was a dead-ball intentional. back. QUOTE]

So back to my question - how does tossing the ball off someone's head equal "contact" as the rule for an intentional T requires?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 27, 2006, 03:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
[QUOTE=rockyroad]
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffpea
On the play in question, A1 was attempting a lay-up (which he missed) while A2 pushed B2 - whistle/foul on A2. A few seconds after the whistle, B3 held the ball out and dropped/pushed/bounced (what ever term you want to use) the ball off of A3's head (there was contact) - whistle/T.

The T was a dead-ball intentional. back. QUOTE]

So back to my question - how does tossing the ball off someone's head equal "contact" as the rule for an intentional T requires?
The ball made contact with the dude's dome. What more do you need?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 27, 2006, 04:20pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
[QUOTE=Whistles & Stripes]
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad
The ball made contact with the dude's dome. What more do you need?
You're right - the BALL made contact with the dude's dome...but Ray didn't make contact with the player. As I understand the rule, in order to be an Intentional T, there must be contact between the players...so shouldn't it have been a regular old garden variety Unsporting T? In which case possession would have been given to the team with the arrow which was Villanova, not given to Florida at half-court.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 27, 2006, 05:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
[QUOTE=rockyroad]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes

You're right - the BALL made contact with the dude's dome...but Ray didn't make contact with the player. As I understand the rule, in order to be an Intentional T, there must be contact between the players...so shouldn't it have been a regular old garden variety Unsporting T? In which case possession would have been given to the team with the arrow which was Villanova, not given to Florida at half-court.
Man, that ball didn't really jump up there and hit his dome by itself. And even if it was a "regular old garden variety unsporting T," why would you go to the arrow? I don't do college ball, so I'm really just requesting to be educated here. My limited understanding of the rules is that the garden variety T would result in 2 FTs by Florida, and then the ball being put back in play at the POI, which would be a baseline throw in for Nova because the Floriday player had been called for the pushing foul on the rebound.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 27, 2006, 05:38pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
[QUOTE=Whistles & Stripes]
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad
Man, that ball didn't really jump up there and hit his dome by itself. And even if it was a "regular old garden variety unsporting T," why would you go to the arrow? I don't do college ball, so I'm really just requesting to be educated here. My limited understanding of the rules is that the garden variety T would result in 2 FTs by Florida, and then the ball being put back in play at the POI, which would be a baseline throw in for Nova because the Floriday player had been called for the pushing foul on the rebound.
There was no team control during the rebound, so POI would be the arrow, I believe...I guess the point I am trying to make is that Florida should not have been given the ball at half-court, it should have been Nova's ball at the baseline...Nova coach had a point to his argument, IMO...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 27, 2006, 07:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 314
Rockyroad

You were right the 1st time about the POI--it would have been Nova's ball on the baseline because of the foul, not the arrow. It was Hightower's interpretation of intentional technical that put the ball at division line, one of the only situations that doesn't revert to POI. Another example would be a flagrant technical.
__________________
"Never mistake activity for achievement."
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 27, 2006, 07:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 314
college rules

This is one rule that is different between men's and women's college. In women's it would simply have been POI. The time when the offended team keeps the ball as well on a T in women's is on an excessive timeout---POI in men's.
__________________
"Never mistake activity for achievement."
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 27, 2006, 08:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
[QUOTE=rockyroad]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes

There was no team control during the rebound, so POI would be the arrow, I believe...I guess the point I am trying to make is that Florida should not have been given the ball at half-court, it should have been Nova's ball at the baseline...Nova coach had a point to his argument, IMO...
OK, Rocky, I'm not entirely sure, but I think that we agree on this. However, I'm not sure. Why would POI be the arrow? The TECHNICAL foul did not occur during the rebound. The Technical foul occurred during the dead ball AFTER a foul was called during the rebound.

I guess what I'm thinking is this. Shove during rebound, whistle, foul. At this point, since the foul during the rebound was against Florida, the ball should then go to Nova on the baseline. Then, during the deadball, WHISTLE, Technical for dead ball contact. SOOO, if it WAS going to be POI, Florida would shoot their FTs, and then Nova would get the ball back on the baseline.

Am I wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 28, 2006, 02:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
[quote=Whistles & Stripes]
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad

OK, Rocky, I'm not entirely sure, but I think that we agree on this. However, I'm not sure. Why would POI be the arrow? The TECHNICAL foul did not occur during the rebound. The Technical foul occurred during the dead ball AFTER a foul was called during the rebound.

I guess what I'm thinking is this. Shove during rebound, whistle, foul. At this point, since the foul during the rebound was against Florida, the ball should then go to Nova on the baseline. Then, during the deadball, WHISTLE, Technical for dead ball contact. SOOO, if it WAS going to be POI, Florida would shoot their FTs, and then Nova would get the ball back on the baseline.

Am I wrong?
You have the correct understanding.

I expect to see a clarification from the NCAA on this soon, certainly before next season.

I would not have deemed this "contact" to meet the definiton of an intentional technical foul. I would have gone with an unsporting T and resumed at the POI.

We'll have to wait and see what the NCAA says.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 28, 2006, 10:31am
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
[QUOTE=Whistles & Stripes]
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad

OK, Rocky, I'm not entirely sure, but I think that we agree on this. However, I'm not sure. Why would POI be the arrow? The TECHNICAL foul did not occur during the rebound. The Technical foul occurred during the dead ball AFTER a foul was called during the rebound.

I guess what I'm thinking is this. Shove during rebound, whistle, foul. At this point, since the foul during the rebound was against Florida, the ball should then go to Nova on the baseline. Then, during the deadball, WHISTLE, Technical for dead ball contact. SOOO, if it WAS going to be POI, Florida would shoot their FTs, and then Nova would get the ball back on the baseline.

Am I wrong?
No, you're not wrong. I seem to have forgotten the small fact that a rebounding foul had been called first...duh! And so we do agree - Nova should have gotten the ball...like Nevada said, I don't understand why it was called an Intentional T.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
point of interruption elecref Basketball 23 Fri Oct 07, 2005 03:08pm
point of interruption elecref Basketball 31 Wed Sep 28, 2005 05:18pm
What is point of interruption ? bossref Basketball 13 Thu Dec 12, 2002 03:17pm
"point of interruption" Rhino Basketball 1 Fri Dec 08, 2000 06:11pm
Point of Interruption kspann Basketball 12 Thu Nov 30, 2000 11:48am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1