On the play in question, A1 was attempting a lay-up (which he missed) while A2 pushed B2 - whistle/foul on A2. A few seconds after the whistle, B3 held the ball out and dropped/pushed/bounced (what ever term you want to use) the ball off of A3's head (there was contact) - whistle/T.
The T was a dead-ball intentional. Although at the time, Team B would have received the ball out of bounds, the penalty (2shots + ball) was administered correctly - Team A ball. If it was a simple "f-bomb", then POI would have existed.
This is similar to the end of the Charlotte @ George Washington game several weeks ago. Remember that a foul was called on GW w/ about :05 seconds left and then a dead-ball contact technical foul (aka intentional) was called on Charlotte. GW got 2 shots (reduced 3pt defecit to 1pt) AND the ball back. A put-back of a missed GW shot just prior to the buzzer gave GW the 1pt win.
It's great to see the officials working the game (Hightower, Tom Eades, and Ed Corbett) apply the rules correctly in a big game. I will say that Hightower (as usual) was calling out of his area and got screwed up on a couple of rotations - but only his "officiating.com geeks" notice.
|