![]() |
|
|
|||
Vill/FlaTech-Point of Interruption?
Midway through first half FLA fouled Villanova player, then a technical was called on Allen Ray of 'nova. Florida shot FT's but was then awarded the ball at the division line. I thought 'nova had the ball at the time of the foul and that they should have retained the ball at the "point of interruption".
I was at the game and wasn't able to see the replays. My only conclusion was that when the foul occurred, it was during a rebound and no team control existed. Hightower was very adamant about giving FLA the ball at the division ine. Thoughts? |
|
|||
Quote:
Offended team gets 2 FTs + possession at the midcourt line.
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
It was called an Intentional T as Dan said...my only question is this: according to NCAA Men's rules, an Intentional T is a "contact" T during a dead ball...the T was called for Ray tossing the ball and hitting the Florida player in the head...does that qualify as "contact" under Men's rules?
|
|
|||
I saw this as well and wondered why Nova didn't get the ball back. Thanks for educating me. THe original foul on the play was on the rebound. The Nova shooter missed the shot and the Floriday player shoved a Nova rebounder going for the ball.
|
|
|||
On the play in question, A1 was attempting a lay-up (which he missed) while A2 pushed B2 - whistle/foul on A2. A few seconds after the whistle, B3 held the ball out and dropped/pushed/bounced (what ever term you want to use) the ball off of A3's head (there was contact) - whistle/T.
The T was a dead-ball intentional. Although at the time, Team B would have received the ball out of bounds, the penalty (2shots + ball) was administered correctly - Team A ball. If it was a simple "f-bomb", then POI would have existed. This is similar to the end of the Charlotte @ George Washington game several weeks ago. Remember that a foul was called on GW w/ about :05 seconds left and then a dead-ball contact technical foul (aka intentional) was called on Charlotte. GW got 2 shots (reduced 3pt defecit to 1pt) AND the ball back. A put-back of a missed GW shot just prior to the buzzer gave GW the 1pt win. It's great to see the officials working the game (Hightower, Tom Eades, and Ed Corbett) apply the rules correctly in a big game. I will say that Hightower (as usual) was calling out of his area and got screwed up on a couple of rotations - but only his "officiating.com geeks" notice. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
[QUOTE=jeffpea]On the play in question, A1 was attempting a lay-up (which he missed) while A2 pushed B2 - whistle/foul on A2. A few seconds after the whistle, B3 held the ball out and dropped/pushed/bounced (what ever term you want to use) the ball off of A3's head (there was contact) - whistle/T.
The T was a dead-ball intentional. back. QUOTE] So back to my question - how does tossing the ball off someone's head equal "contact" as the rule for an intentional T requires? |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() I bet there's a clarification next year though. Art. 7. (Men) Intentional technical foul. An intentional technical foul involves intentionally contacting an opponent in a non-flagrant manner when the ball is dead.
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
point of interruption | elecref | Basketball | 23 | Fri Oct 07, 2005 03:08pm |
point of interruption | elecref | Basketball | 31 | Wed Sep 28, 2005 05:18pm |
What is point of interruption ? | bossref | Basketball | 13 | Thu Dec 12, 2002 03:17pm |
"point of interruption" | Rhino | Basketball | 1 | Fri Dec 08, 2000 06:11pm |
Point of Interruption | kspann | Basketball | 12 | Thu Nov 30, 2000 11:48am |