The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 08, 2006, 10:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 163
B never touched the ball. A1 (with end-line throw-in) passed the ball to A2 (passed the mid-court line) who was standing out-of-bounds.

No matter if you tag the violation to A1 or A2, Team A gets the violation. A violation under rule 9-2 (something).

After reading Snagwell's post, I agree that the violation was the receiver of the pass(A2), not the passer (A1) because of the wording in 9-2-2. 9-2-2 was not violated. The ball was passed by the thrower directly on the court from out-of-bound so that it touches, or is touched by another player(inbounds or out-of bounds) on the court before going out of bounds untouched. But 9-2-10 was violated by A2.

When there is a throw-in, shouldn't we look at the rules that cover throw-ins? This is not a regular, ball-in-play OOB situation. This is a throw-in. Those rules are covered under rule 9-2.

My point was that 9-2 was violated by TEAM A. Looking at the bottom of Section 9-2, it says:

"Penalty: (Section 2) The ball becomes dead when the vioation or the technical foul occurs. Following a violation, the ball is awarded to the opponets for a throw-in at the original throw-in spot."

It's an end-line throw-in (after a made basket). Completion of the throw-in is not the issue. Like it was in the thread last week. No change of A-P arrow either way.

Although we don't have enough information becuase we weren't there. In my mind, the coach was trying to stretch the end-line rule 7-5-7, and steal a couple of seconds from the clock, by throwing to their own player who was standing OOB past the division line. But, even if the player just had his/her foot on the boundry line, that player is OOB (on the throw-in play)

It is a violation of rule 9-2. The penalty for violating this rule (any article of the section) is covered under the penalty paragraph under rule 9-2 (page 56, in the book, right before Section 3)

It is a throw-in for team B at the original throw-in spot.

That was the way that I was reading it.

Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1