View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 06, 2006, 06:19pm
assignmentmaker assignmentmaker is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 508
Quote:
Originally posted by TerpZebra
This happened in a JUCO women's game, however I would like the ruling for both College and Federation. Please give any and all rule references.

Situation:

After a made basket and a timeout, there are 4.6 seconds remaining on the clock in OT. Team A is down by 1 point and has the ball for a running baseline throw-in.

A1 throws the ball across midcourt where it is first touched by A2 who is standing out of bounds.

Partner blows her whistle and immediately points the other direction.

I glance at the clock and see it is now at 4.0 seconds.

Two questions are:

1) Should we reset the clock to 4.6 seconds?
2) Where does team B's throw-in take place?

Thanks for any and all answers! I had two supervisors "discussing" the play when I told them about it.

What we ended up doing in the game:
1) reset the clock to 4.6
2) baseline spot throw-in for Team B
1. You had definite knowledge of the time, since the clock should never have started.

2. Unless you have a technical foul on the Team A player out-of-bounds, the throw-in was completed under 9-2-2 ("touched by another player (inbounds or out of bounds)"), thus the throw-in is at midcourt.

I think.

[Edited by assignmentmaker on Feb 6th, 2006 at 08:56 PM]
__________________
Sarchasm: the gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the recipient.
Reply With Quote