View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 08, 2006, 10:08am
assignmentmaker assignmentmaker is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 508
Quote:
Originally posted by wwcfoa43
Quote:
Originally posted by Snaqwells
Quote:
Originally posted by wwcfoa43
I agree with Time2Ref's original thought. The verbiage of 9-2-10 is that it would apply equally to Team B. And there is nothing to indicate that 9-3 (OOB) should take precedence over 9-2-10 for Team B but not for Team A.

So I believe there is more rule support for the throw-in on the end line.

Read the violation rules again and you'll see that in this case the violation is not committed by the thrower, but by the receiver.
It is a violation for the thrower to the throw the ball so that it touches OOB before touching a player. When a player touches the ball while standing out of bounds, that player has committed the violation. The thrower is off the hook here, and his teammate has committed the violation.

Think about it this way. Which player gets hit with the turnover on the stat sheet? In this case, the ball will be given to the opposing team at the spot where the guilty player was standing.
I read the rule many times and the violation when B touches the throw-in pass while OOB is indeed not a violation by A but by Team B. The question is whether it is a 9-2-10 (throw-in) violation committed by B or a 9-3 (OOB) violation committed by B. The wording of 9-2-10 does not preclude it being applied against B and if that is the case then the throw-in would be on the end line by A.
Study on 9-2-2. It says that, if the thrower passes the ball directly onto the court, the thrower has fulfilled his/her responsibility. 9-2-10 addresses the responsibilities of the other 9 players during a throw-in. It says: if one of those other 9 is out-of-bounds, the throw-in goes to the opponents at that spot. Just as, if, during normal play, the ball hits a player who happens to be legally out-of-bounds.

To take a simple, specific case, imagine a ball thrown-in that bounces on the court in-bounds. B1 chases the ball and, as s/he gets to the ball, is stepping on a boundary line. Violation by B1.

9-2-3 address a different issue altogether.
__________________
Sarchasm: the gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the recipient.
Reply With Quote