View Single Post
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 08, 2006, 10:21pm
Time2Ref Time2Ref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 163
B never touched the ball. A1 (with end-line throw-in) passed the ball to A2 (passed the mid-court line) who was standing out-of-bounds.

No matter if you tag the violation to A1 or A2, Team A gets the violation. A violation under rule 9-2 (something).

After reading Snagwell's post, I agree that the violation was the receiver of the pass(A2), not the passer (A1) because of the wording in 9-2-2. 9-2-2 was not violated. The ball was passed by the thrower directly on the court from out-of-bound so that it touches, or is touched by another player(inbounds or out-of bounds) on the court before going out of bounds untouched. But 9-2-10 was violated by A2.

When there is a throw-in, shouldn't we look at the rules that cover throw-ins? This is not a regular, ball-in-play OOB situation. This is a throw-in. Those rules are covered under rule 9-2.

My point was that 9-2 was violated by TEAM A. Looking at the bottom of Section 9-2, it says:

"Penalty: (Section 2) The ball becomes dead when the vioation or the technical foul occurs. Following a violation, the ball is awarded to the opponets for a throw-in at the original throw-in spot."

It's an end-line throw-in (after a made basket). Completion of the throw-in is not the issue. Like it was in the thread last week. No change of A-P arrow either way.

Although we don't have enough information becuase we weren't there. In my mind, the coach was trying to stretch the end-line rule 7-5-7, and steal a couple of seconds from the clock, by throwing to their own player who was standing OOB past the division line. But, even if the player just had his/her foot on the boundry line, that player is OOB (on the throw-in play)

It is a violation of rule 9-2. The penalty for violating this rule (any article of the section) is covered under the penalty paragraph under rule 9-2 (page 56, in the book, right before Section 3)

It is a throw-in for team B at the original throw-in spot.

That was the way that I was reading it.

Reply With Quote