The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 14, 2005, 10:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,158
I am open to the possibility that I am the village idiot on this one, but I don't think so....

Player A shoots a jumpshot and lands. As soon as Player A lands Player B then sticks his butt into Player A and drives Player A back say 2 feet. I tweet , I got pushing. coach is very upset with me .Coach tells me that is good rebounding.

I am now noticing this occuring more and more.

Is my call legimate or I am seeing things ???/

Opinions please.

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 14, 2005, 10:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Quote:
Originally posted by Chess Ref
I am open to the possibility that I am the village idiot on this one, but I don't think so....

Player A shoots a jumpshot and lands. As soon as Player A lands Player B then sticks his butt into Player A and drives Player A back say 2 feet. I tweet , I got pushing. coach is very upset with me .Coach tells me that is good rebounding.

I am now noticing this occuring more and more.

Is my call legimate or I am seeing things ???/

Opinions please.

I use the following when it comes to that and all types of plays -

R - Reroute
I - Impede
D - Dislodge
D - Displace

Remember, everyone has a right to any spot on the floor, as long as they get there first legally. Forcing a player out of a spot is illegal. Good call.
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 14, 2005, 10:44am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally posted by Chess Ref
I am open to the possibility that I am the village idiot on this one, but I don't think so....

Player A shoots a jumpshot and lands. As soon as Player A lands Player B then sticks his butt into Player A and drives Player A back say 2 feet. I tweet , I got pushing. coach is very upset with me .Coach tells me that is good rebounding.

I am now noticing this occuring more and more.

Is my call legimate or I am seeing things ???/

Opinions please.

Chess Ref,
I make that call with less frequency, every year.
mick
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 14, 2005, 10:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Boxing out is sealing your opponent NOT moving your opponent.

Feel free to use that sentence the next time you make the correct call and the coach questions it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 14, 2005, 10:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,910
Quote:
Originally posted by Chess Ref
I am open to the possibility that I am the village idiot on this one, but I don't think so....

Player A shoots a jumpshot and lands. As soon as Player A lands Player B then sticks his butt into Player A and drives Player A back say 2 feet. I tweet , I got pushing. coach is very upset with me .Coach tells me that is good rebounding.

I am now noticing this occuring more and more.

Is my call legimate or I am seeing things ???/

Opinions please.

That is strictly a judgment call on your part. Obviously you did a good job of staying with the shooter. Only you can decide if it's worth a whistle or not.

Z
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 14, 2005, 10:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,772
I agree with Mick

Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Quote:
Originally posted by Chess Ref
I am open to the possibility that I am the village idiot on this one, but I don't think so....

Player A shoots a jumpshot and lands. As soon as Player A lands Player B then sticks his butt into Player A and drives Player A back say 2 feet. I tweet , I got pushing. coach is very upset with me .Coach tells me that is good rebounding.

I am now noticing this occuring more and more.

Is my call legimate or I am seeing things ???/

Opinions please.

Chess Ref,
I make that call with less frequency, every year.
mick
That's been taught for years and as Mick stated, I call it less all the time.

As long as it doesn't affect the shot I'm just treating it as incidental contact.

Thansk
David
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 14, 2005, 10:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Boxing out is sealing your opponent NOT moving your opponent.

Feel free to use that sentence the next time you make the correct call and the coach questions it.
I like that.
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 14, 2005, 10:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,910
Re: I agree with Mick

Quote:
Originally posted by David B


That's been taught for years and as Mick stated, I call it less all the time.

As long as it doesn't affect the shot I'm just treating it as incidental contact.

Thansk
David
Be careful here. First of all, it doesn't matter how long it's been taught. Second of all, you can't base that call entirely on whether or not it affects the shot (in fact, as described in the original post it will never affect the shot because the block-out happens after the ball is gone).

You need to decide if the box-out was enough contact to call a foul. Some of those plays are pretty minor. Others are hard enough that to not call it might lead to retaliation later and a much rougher game.

Z
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 14, 2005, 10:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Re: I agree with Mick

Quote:
Originally posted by David B
Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Quote:
Originally posted by Chess Ref
I am open to the possibility that I am the village idiot on this one, but I don't think so....

Player A shoots a jumpshot and lands. As soon as Player A lands Player B then sticks his butt into Player A and drives Player A back say 2 feet. I tweet , I got pushing. coach is very upset with me .Coach tells me that is good rebounding.

I am now noticing this occuring more and more.

Is my call legimate or I am seeing things ???/

Opinions please.

Chess Ref,
I make that call with less frequency, every year.
mick
That's been taught for years and as Mick stated, I call it less all the time.

As long as it doesn't affect the shot I'm just treating it as incidental contact.

Thansk
David
I think you missed Mick's the point.

Displacing A1 after the shot may not impact the shot, but it does hinder their ability to rebound, it leads to A1 letting B1 have it on the other end. It is not incidental contact if it hinders normal movement or leads to more rough play.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 14, 2005, 11:02am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
I agree with both Z's on this one. That displacement should be called like other "contact" situations--advantage/disadvantage.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 14, 2005, 11:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Pflugerville, TX
Posts: 293
Send a message via Yahoo to SeanFitzRef
I tend not to call it if A1 is a jump shooter 15 or more feet, and the ball doesn't rebound back to the shhoter or in the area of the original shot. I will call it more in the lane. A lot of the time, B1 will initiate this contact before the shooter returns to the floor. Gotta call that foul, and A1 to the line for two shots!!
__________________
Nature gave men two ends - one to sit on and one to think with. Ever since then man's success or failure has been dependent on the one he used most.
-- George R. Kirkpatrick
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 14, 2005, 11:15am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Re: Re: I agree with Mick

Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:
Originally posted by David B
Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Quote:
Originally posted by Chess Ref
I am open to the possibility that I am the village idiot on this one, but I don't think so....

Player A shoots a jumpshot and lands. As soon as Player A lands Player B then sticks his butt into Player A and drives Player A back say 2 feet. I tweet , I got pushing. coach is very upset with me .Coach tells me that is good rebounding.

I am now noticing this occuring more and more.

Is my call legimate or I am seeing things ???/

Opinions please.

Chess Ref,
I make that call with less frequency, every year.
mick
That's been taught for years and as Mick stated, I call it less all the time.

As long as it doesn't affect the shot I'm just treating it as incidental contact.

Thansk
David
I think you missed Mick's the point.

Displacing A1 after the shot may not impact the shot, but it does hinder their ability to rebound, it leads to A1 letting B1 have it on the other end. It is not incidental contact if it hinders normal movement or leads to more rough play.
blindzebra,
To clarify, I think David understood what I wrote. I need hard contact, unquestionable displacement and maybe even a touch of intent before I give a 24" displacement any consideration.
mick
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 14, 2005, 11:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Re: Re: Re: I agree with Mick

Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:
Originally posted by David B
Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Quote:
Originally posted by Chess Ref
I am open to the possibility that I am the village idiot on this one, but I don't think so....

Player A shoots a jumpshot and lands. As soon as Player A lands Player B then sticks his butt into Player A and drives Player A back say 2 feet. I tweet , I got pushing. coach is very upset with me .Coach tells me that is good rebounding.

I am now noticing this occuring more and more.

Is my call legimate or I am seeing things ???/

Opinions please.

Chess Ref,
I make that call with less frequency, every year.
mick
That's been taught for years and as Mick stated, I call it less all the time.

As long as it doesn't affect the shot I'm just treating it as incidental contact.

Thansk
David
I think you missed Mick's the point.

Displacing A1 after the shot may not impact the shot, but it does hinder their ability to rebound, it leads to A1 letting B1 have it on the other end. It is not incidental contact if it hinders normal movement or leads to more rough play.
blindzebra,
To clarify, I think David understood what I wrote. I need hard contact, unquestionable displacement and maybe even a touch of intent before I give a 24" displacement any consideration.
mick
Sorry I was giving you more credit as it turns out.

That less than hard contact on this end leads to A1 doing the same to B1 on the other, which usually leads to B1 doing it harder the next time. That continues until you put a stop to it.

Call it the first time and the game does not need to be reeled back in.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 14, 2005, 11:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,910
I make this call, especially in the first half. Get it early and they will quit doing it. I agree that it leads to rough play. If you're letting a shooter get pushed around out front, he's going to get upset and start pushing back unless we take care of it.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 14, 2005, 11:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,772
Re: Re: Re: I agree with Mick

Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:
Originally posted by David B
Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Quote:
Originally posted by Chess Ref
I am open to the possibility that I am the village idiot on this one, but I don't think so....

Player A shoots a jumpshot and lands. As soon as Player A lands Player B then sticks his butt into Player A and drives Player A back say 2 feet. I tweet , I got pushing. coach is very upset with me .Coach tells me that is good rebounding.

I am now noticing this occuring more and more.

Is my call legimate or I am seeing things ???/

Opinions please.

Chess Ref,
I make that call with less frequency, every year.
mick
That's been taught for years and as Mick stated, I call it less all the time.

As long as it doesn't affect the shot I'm just treating it as incidental contact.

Thansk
David
I think you missed Mick's the point.

Displacing A1 after the shot may not impact the shot, but it does hinder their ability to rebound, it leads to A1 letting B1 have it on the other end. It is not incidental contact if it hinders normal movement or leads to more rough play.
blindzebra,
To clarify, I think David understood what I wrote. I need hard contact, unquestionable displacement and maybe even a touch of intent before I give a 24" displacement any consideration.
mick
Exactly what I read into it

Thanks
David
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1