The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 02, 2005, 11:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Indiana
Posts: 58

Situation….

Ref gives ball to wrong team (A) after time-out. Player A1 receives in bound pass and scores basket in A’s basket. Easy uncontested lay-up since most players were at the other end of court waiting for Team B to come into front court.

Meanwhile, Coach for Team B is screaming about the mistake and play continues like it would after any basket scored. What should be done? Correctable situation?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 02, 2005, 11:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Once the ball is touched inbounds, it's too late to fix it. You just have to deal with it and move on. It's not a Correctable Error under 2-10. You can take the ball back at any point up to the ball being touched legally inbounds. After that, it's tough. Be sure you call your assignor when you get home, and tell him before coach B does. That shows that you're willing tro own up to your mistakes and learn your lesson.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 02, 2005, 11:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Arctic Circle
Posts: 112
Send a message via Yahoo to JohnBark
not one of the correctable errors in the rulebook.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 02, 2005, 11:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Indiana
Posts: 58
Thanks Rainmaker.

You say "You can take the ball back at any point up to the ball being touched legally inbounds." So if the mistake is discovered right away before inbound pass, something CAN be done? Or is it still not correctable?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 02, 2005, 11:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Jim Henry
Thanks Rainmaker.

You say "You can take the ball back at any point up to the ball being touched legally inbounds." So if the mistake is discovered right away before inbound pass, something CAN be done? Or is it still not correctable?
Yup, it's still Fixable, (aothough not Correctable in the 2-10 sense).
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 02, 2005, 12:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
in your example, the off ref, should have whistled as you handed the ball to the inbounder. However, even up to the point of the throw-in pass, yes you can think, "Wait a minute!!" and take it back.

To prevent this, get in the habit of thinking of the re-start as soon as the to is whistled. Put that into the to routine.

TWEET!! White time out. 30 seconds. White ball oob."
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 02, 2005, 12:16pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Rainmaker be right as per case book play 7.5.2SitB.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 02, 2005, 12:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Rainmaker be right as per case book play 7.5.2SitB.
Whew, that's a relief!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 02, 2005, 12:25pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Rainmaker be right as per case book play 7.5.2SitB.
Whew, that's a relief!
Why?...lol

You had it nailed completely.. rules-wise and procedure-wise...without having to crack a book. Good job. I just looked up the cite for you, in case anybody really cared.

I'm auditioning for "The Apprentice".
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 02, 2005, 12:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
I'm auditioning for "The Apprentice".
You're fired.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 02, 2005, 12:50pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,776
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee


I'm auditioning for "The Apprentice".
The Martha Stewart version, right??!!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 02, 2005, 01:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Rainmaker be right as per case book play 7.5.2SitB.
Whew, that's a relief!
Why?...lol

You had it nailed completely.. rules-wise and procedure-wise...without having to crack a book. Good job. I just looked up the cite for you, in case anybody really cared.

I'm auditioning for "The Apprentice".
Good luck landing the role of "the doorman"!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 02, 2005, 01:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Indiana
Posts: 58
I get it. Fix-able before the WRONG team gets the ball. But not fix-able or correctable after the WRONG team scores the basket. Right?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 02, 2005, 01:50pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,729
Quote:
Originally posted by Jim Henry
I get it. Fix-able before the WRONG team gets the ball. But not fix-able or correctable after the WRONG team scores the basket. Right?
I know this answer will displease many, if not most, here, but...

That's right, if you're taking a rules test.

However, in real life, if this happened to me I would take the points off the board, reset the clock if I knew what the clock was supposed to be before the throw-in, apologize to the coaches for being an idiot, and give the ball to the proper team.

Flame away
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 02, 2005, 02:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Good luck landing the role of "the doorman"!

"Hello, this is Carlton, your doorman."

[Edited by ChuckElias on Nov 2nd, 2005 at 02:20 PM]
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1