![]() |
|
|||
No, it's not true in the NCAA that "you can't pass to yourself, unless you throw it [the ball] off the backboard..."
You are misunderstanding the point and making an illogical argument. The primary part of lukealex's statement is that you can't pass to yourself. That is ONLY true in the NBA. It is LEGAL to throw a BOUNCE pass to oneself at both the college and HS levels because it meets the definition of starting a dribble. The term self-pass doesn't even exist at the NCAA or NFHS levels. lukealex then adds a caveat to his premise. He excepts throwing the ball off the backboard to oneself from his illegal "self pass category" because he is aware that this specific action has been deemed legal. You took this small part of his post, thought "Hey, that's legal in the NCAA, too" quoted the rule which specifies that, and seem to think that I don't agree or am not aware of that. In fact, this action is legal at ALL levels of basketball (NBA, NCAA, AND NFHS). No one disagreed with this, including me. Notice that neither of the plays that I quoted above have anything at all to do with throwing the ball off the backboard. Now, please go back and take a look at his entire statement, Quote:
Note: What most people think is a "self-pass" is really a try for goal that doesn't touch anything. That is what hungt originally inquired about. He even provided the NCAA rule which says it is a legal play. (It is also legal in NFHS, but not in the NBA.) He was just a little confused about the wording of the answer. Without the word "NO" in the ruling, he was still unclear whether or not this action was traveling. I provided an example of an action that starts out as a pass, but becomes a dribble and is deemed legal in order to specifically demonstrate that lukealex shouldn't be thinking like that. |
Bookmarks |
|
|