View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 06, 2005, 02:17am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
No, it's not true in the NCAA that "you can't pass to yourself, unless you throw it [the ball] off the backboard..."

You are misunderstanding the point and making an illogical argument.

The primary part of lukealex's statement is that you can't pass to yourself. That is ONLY true in the NBA. It is LEGAL to throw a BOUNCE pass to oneself at both the college and HS levels because it meets the definition of starting a dribble. The term self-pass doesn't even exist at the NCAA or NFHS levels.


lukealex then adds a caveat to his premise. He excepts throwing the ball off the backboard to oneself from his illegal "self pass category" because he is aware that this specific action has been deemed legal.

You took this small part of his post, thought "Hey, that's legal in the NCAA, too" quoted the rule which specifies that, and seem to think that I don't agree or am not aware of that.
In fact, this action is legal at ALL levels of basketball (NBA, NCAA, AND NFHS). No one disagreed with this, including me. Notice that neither of the plays that I quoted above have anything at all to do with throwing the ball off the backboard.

Now, please go back and take a look at his entire statement,
Quote:
Originally posted by lukealex
Good point since you can't pass to yourself, unless you throw it off the backboard, but that is a whole different topic (almost).
you will now understand that this is ONLY true in the NBA where there is a specific prohibition for a self-pass. I responded to this thread when I noticed that lukealex seems to use "you can't pass to yourself" as a rule of thumb for making a decision on the legality of a play. That is terribly misleading, in fact, it is wrong, unless he is officiating in the NBA. That is what I wrote above.

Note: What most people think is a "self-pass" is really a try for goal that doesn't touch anything. That is what hungt originally inquired about. He even provided the NCAA rule which says it is a legal play. (It is also legal in NFHS, but not in the NBA.) He was just a little confused about the wording of the answer. Without the word "NO" in the ruling, he was still unclear whether or not this action was traveling.
I provided an example of an action that starts out as a pass, but becomes a dribble and is deemed legal in order to specifically demonstrate that lukealex shouldn't be thinking like that.

Reply With Quote