Quote:
Originally posted by hungt
I got this excerpt from the 2005 NCAA Basketball Rule book..
"A.R. 35. A1 attempts a try at Team As basket after having completed the dribble. The try does not touch the backboard, the ring or the flange or any other player. A1 runs and catches the ball before it strikes the playing court. Is this traveling? RULING: When A1 recovered his or her own try, A1 could either dribble, pass or try again. There is no team control by either team when a try is in flight. However, when the shot clock expires and a try by A1 or a teammate has not struck the ring or the flange, it shall be a violation of the shot-clock rule."
Now did the ruling answer the traveling question?
To me, this is traveling, correct?
|
The NFHS casebook play 4.43 Situation B says almost exactly the same thing as this NCAA AR, but it starts its ruling with a simple "No." and then continues with an explanation that is very similar to the NCAA AR. Perhaps that would clarify it for you.
Quote:
Originally posted by Hartsy
I don't like the wording "attempts a try". It's either a try or it isn't. I do think this implies an "airball" though.
|
You are making to much out of the diction, Yoda. "Do or do not. There is no try." In this context, "attempts" means "executes." In fact, had the committee written "tries a try" it would mean exactly the same thing, but would be even more ungainly in my opinion.
Quote:
Originally posted by lukealex
Good point since you can't pass to yourself, unless you throw it off the backboard, but that is a whole different topic (almost).
|
Again, only true in the NBA. Under NFHS rules there is no such thing as a self pass. It is either a legal dribble or an illegal dribble, depending upon whether or not the ball bounces on the floor. Take a look at the following:
2003-04 NFHS BASKETBALL RULES INTERPRETATIONS
SITUATION 6: A1 jumps from the floor and secures a defensive re-bound. A1 then pivots toward the sideline where a teammate, A2, is standing for an outlet pass. Just as A1 releases the pass, A2 turns and runs down the court. A1 throws a soft bounce pass to where A2 was standing. A1 then moves and secures the ball without dribbling. RULING: Legal action. A1 had the pivot foot on the floor and began a dribble by throwing the ball to the floor (the bounce pass); the dribble ended when A1 secured the ball. Upon reaching the ball, A1 also could have continued the dribble. (4-15-3,4)
Now read 4.15.4 Situation D part(a) and contrast it to the above ruling.
[Edited by Nevadaref on Jun 29th, 2005 at 07:36 AM]