View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 28, 2005, 03:02pm
Hartsy Hartsy is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally posted by hungt
I got this excerpt from the 2005 NCAA Basketball Rule book..
"A.R. 35. A1 attempts a try at Team A’s basket after having completed the dribble. The try does not touch the backboard, the ring or the flange or any other player.
Attempts a try, or a try?

If you judge it to be a shot, it is not traveling. If it was almost a shot (attempts a try) then it is a pass to ones self and is traveling.

I don't like the wording "attempts a try". It's either a try or it isn't. I do think this implies an "airball" though.
Reply With Quote