View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 28, 2005, 08:39am
Dan_ref Dan_ref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by hungt
I got this excerpt from the 2005 NCAA Basketball Rule book..
"A.R. 35. A1 attempts a try at Team A’s basket after having completed the dribble. The try does not touch the backboard, the ring or the flange or any other player. A1 runs and catches the ball before it strikes the playing court. Is this traveling? RULING: When A1 recovered his or her own try, A1 could either dribble, pass or try again. There is no team control by either team when a try is in flight. However, when the shot clock expires and a try by A1 or a teammate has not struck the ring or the flange, it shall be a violation of the shot-clock rule."

Now did the ruling answer the traveling question?
To me, this is traveling, correct?
Yes, to you it is traveling, but you're not correct.

I believe this is traveling under NBA rules, which you can access on the web somewhere. Under NCAA rules & even HS rules however this is a legal play *unless* A1 has a brain cramp & tries to put the ball into the wrong basket.
Reply With Quote