![]() |
|
|||
|
IAABO Refresher Exam #17
Our IAABO Refresher Exam study group met last night. We could not come up with a consensus on question #17. We did not have access to an answer sheet, but were given a citation 4-42-5.
Note that unlike other similar questions in past years, the kick was by the throwin team. #17 Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in under the alternating-possession procedure. A-1’s throw-in is kicked by A-2. The official awards the ball to Team B and has the scorer turn the arrow toward Team B’s basket. Is the official correct? What say you, and why?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Team A keeps the A/P arrow. Did Team A violate the Throw-in? No. Was the ball legally touched? No, it was kicked. Thus, DO NOT change the A/P arrow. The new Throw-in is from the result of the Kick violation. Team B will have the Throw-in at one of the 8 magic location (4 in the Front court, 4 in the Back court) based on the location of the kick violation. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Interesting. NCAAW specifically says "throw-in violation" (emphasis added):
Art. 2. The alternating-possession procedure starts when an official placesI always thought it was the same. Did it change in NFHS? |
|
|||
|
ART. 6 . . . The opportunity to make an alternating-possession throw-in is lost if the throw-in team violates. If either team fouls during an alternating-possession throw-in, it does not cause the throw-in team to lose the possession arrow. If the defensive team commits a violation during the throw-in, the possession arrow is not switched.
The way it's worded to me means any violation by A loses the arrow. If NFHS said "committed a throw-in violation" or "violates the throw-in" it would be clearer if they intend for A to not lose the arrow here. Last edited by SNIPERBBB; Wed Nov 05, 2025 at 12:29pm. |
|
|||
|
Throw In Ends ...
4-42-5: The throw-in ends when:
a. The passed ball touches or is touched by another player inbounds. b. The passed ball touches or is touched by another player out-of-bounds, except as in 7-5-7. c. The throw-in team commits a throw-in violation.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
Kick By The Defensive Team ..
Note: These are kicks by the defensive team. The exam question asks about an alternating possession throwin kicked by the offensive team
Basketball Rules Interpretations 2016-17 SITUATION 11: Team A is awarded an alternating-possession throw-in. After A1 releases the ball, B1 commits a kicking violation. RULING: A1’s throw-in has ended because of B1’s kicking violation. A new throw-in is awarded to Team A at the spot out-of-bounds nearest to where the kicking violation occurred. NOTE: Because the defensive team committed a violation during the alternating-possession throwin, the alternating-possession arrow is not switched. 4.42.5 SITUATION: Team A is awarded an alternating-possession throw-in. A1’s throw-in pass is illegally kicked by B2. RULING: As a result of B2’s kicking violation, Team A is awarded a new throw-in at the designated spot nearest to where the kicking violation (illegal touching) occurred. Since the alternating-possession throw-in had not been contacted legally, the throw-in has not ended and therefore, the arrow remains with Team A for the next alternating-possession throw-in. COMMENT: The kicking violation ends the alternating-possession throw-in and as a result, a non-alternating-possession throw-in is administered. When the ball is legally touched on the subsequent throw-in following the kicking violation, the arrow shall not be changed and shall remain with Team A. (6-4-5) 4.42.5 SITUATION: Team A is awarded an alternating-possession throw-in in Team A's backcourt. Al's throw-in pass is illegally kicked by B2. RULING: As a result of B2's kicking violation, Team A is awarded a new throw-in at the designated spot nearest to where the kicking violation (illegal touching) occurred. Since the alternating possession throw-in had not been contacted legally, the throw-in has not ended and therefore, the arrow remains with Team A for the next alternating-pos-session throw-in. COMMENT: The kicking violation ends the alternating-possession throw-in and as a result, a non-alternating-possession throw-in is administered. When the ball is legally touched on the subsequent throw-in following the kicking violation, the arrow shall not be changed and shall remain with Team A. (6-4-5)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Nov 08, 2025 at 09:56am. |
|
|||
|
Throwin Ends ...
Quote:
6-4 Alternating Possession ART. 5 The direction of the possession arrow is reversed immediately after an alternating-possession throw-in ends. An alternating-possession throw-in ends when the throw-in ends as in 4-42-5. ART. 6 The opportunity to make an alternating-possession throw-in is lost if the throw-in team violates. If either team fouls during an alternating possession throw-in, it does not cause the throw-in team to lose the possession arrow. If the defensive team commits a violation during the throw-in, the possession arrow is not switched. 4-42 Throw-In ART. 5 . . . The throw-in ends when: a. The passed ball touches or is touched by another player inbounds. b. The passed ball touches or is touched by another player out-of-bounds, except as in 7-5-7. c. The throw-in team commits a throw-in violation.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
A1 Commits A Violation ...
Seek, and ye shall find. (Matthew 7:7)
Bingo! 6.4.5 SITUATION A: Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in under the alternating procedure. A1 commits a violation. RULING: B’s ball for a throw-in because of the violation. In addition, the possession arrow is reversed and is pointed towards B’s basket. Team B will have the next throw-in opportunity under the alternating procedure. Team A has lost its opportunity by virtue of the violation. A violation by Team A during an alternating-possession throw-in is the only way a team loses its turn under the procedure. COMMENT: If a foul by either team occurs before an alternating-possession throw-in ends, the foul is penalized as required and play continues as it normally would, but the possession arrow is not reversed. The same team will still have the arrow for the next alternating-possession throw-in. The arrow is reversed when an alternating-possession throw-in ends. (6-4-4) Yes, the official is correct.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Nov 09, 2025 at 08:38am. |
|
|||
|
I will be interested to see what IAABO says. There seems to be a conflict between 4-42-5c ("throw-in violation" and 6-4-6 ("violation"). Given the clarity in other rules codes, I think 6-4-6 in in error and they out a word.
|
|
|||
|
You Gotta Fight For Your Right (Beastie Boys, 1986)
Quote:
There are always a few contoversial answers on the Refesher Exam every year. Probably another year with a debate with my local intepreter.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
The Plot Thickens ...
Quote:
He only received his score, the answer sheet has not yet been distributed to the rank and file. We're pretty sure that he got a different question incorrect: 86) The Trail is responsible for signaling all three-point tries, regardless from whose PCA the try originates. He answered yes, probably incorrrect due to this: IAABO Mechanics Manual Page 270 Segment 6 Three Point Try Coverage B. Only the official from whose PCA the try originates signals the three‑point try. However: 17) Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in under the alternating-possession procedure. A-1’s throw-in is kicked by A-2. The official awards the ball to Team B and has the scorer turn the arrow toward Team B’s basket. Is the official correct? He answered no to this, and since he only got one wrong, probably #86, the correct answer to #17 must be his no answer. So what's the correct answer, or is this a matter of IAABO carelessly omitting a single word, as already mentioned by bob jenkins?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
Bittersweet ...
Quote:
So why do I not feel great, getting a 100% for the first time ever, going back forty-five years? Not because I cheated, because we are encouraged to collaborate on the exam, I even attended the only available "live" study group (I hate Zoom meetings). So why do I not feel great? Because I honestly believe that the answer to #17 should have been yes. Instead of standing up for what I believe to be right, I took the easy path to a 100%. A bittersweet victory. 17) Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in under the alternating-possession procedure. A-1’s throw-in is kicked by A-2. The official awards the ball to Team B and has the scorer turn the arrow toward Team B’s basket. Is the official correct? 6.4.5 SITUATION A: Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in under the alternating procedure. A1 commits a violation. RULING: B’s ball for a throw-in because of the violation. In addition, the possession arrow is reversed and is pointed towards B’s basket. Team B will have the next throw-in opportunity under the alternating procedure. Team A has lost its opportunity by virtue of the violation. A violation by Team A during an alternating-possession throw-in is the only way a team loses its turn under the procedure. COMMENT: If a foul by either team occurs before an alternating-possession throw-in ends, the foul is penalized as required and play continues as it normally would, but the possession arrow is not reversed. The same team will still have the arrow for the next alternating-possession throw-in. The arrow is reversed when an alternating-possession throw-in ends. (6-4-4) Without my friend's single wrong answer for #86 (corrected by me), I would not have gotten 100%. Anybody have anything to say about question #17, my citation, or the IAABO yes answer?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Nov 11, 2025 at 05:31pm. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| IAABO Refresher Exam Question #57 ... | BillyMac | Basketball | 0 | Wed Nov 05, 2014 05:48pm |
| IAABO Refresher Exam 2014 | LIRef | Basketball | 9 | Sat Oct 25, 2014 08:03pm |
| IAABO Refresher Exam | Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. | Basketball | 33 | Sat Dec 27, 2008 03:08pm |
| Backcourt ? from IAABO Refresher Exam | Joel Poli | Basketball | 10 | Fri Nov 07, 2003 11:05pm |
| IAABO Refresher Exam Question 25 | ken roberts | Basketball | 6 | Wed Oct 27, 1999 08:43pm |