The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 04, 2025, 03:50pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,500
IAABO Refresher Exam #61

Our IAABO Refresher Exam study group met last night. We could not come up with a consensus on question #61. We did not have access to an answer sheet, nor to an appropriate citation.

#61 A-1’s frontcourt end-line throw-in is deflected by A-2. Before B-1 can secure control of the ball, A-2 fouls B-1 in Team A’s frontcourt. The official rules a team-control foul on A-2 and awards the ball to Team B for a throw-in from the applicable throw-in spot. Is this correct?

What say you, and why?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 04, 2025, 07:06pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,985
I would be surprised if there isn't a case play.

Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 04, 2025, 07:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Our IAABO Refresher Exam study group met last night. We could not come up with a consensus on question #61. We did not have access to an answer sheet, nor to an appropriate citation.

#61 A-1’s frontcourt end-line throw-in is deflected by A-2. Before B-1 can secure control of the ball, A-2 fouls B-1 in Team A’s frontcourt. The official rules a team-control foul on A-2 and awards the ball to Team B for a throw-in from the applicable throw-in spot. Is this correct?

What say you, and why?
I say Yes, and here is why.
Team A has Team Control during a Throw-in. Since Team A HAS NOT lost Team Control status, the foul committed by A-2 is a Team Control foul. Thus Team B WOULD NOT attempt Free Throws. The foul occurred in Team A's Front Court, this is Team B's Back Court. If the foul was outside the 3-pt arc, then the Throw-in is at the 28' mark on the appropriate side
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 05, 2025, 07:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,232
(last year's reference) 4-19-7: A TC foul.. from the start of the throw-in until player control is obtained inbounds
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 08, 2025, 09:34am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,500
Player Control Is Obtained Inbounds ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
(last year's reference) 4-19-7: A TC foul.. from the start of the throw-in until player control is obtained inbounds
Perfect citation.

Thank you bob jenkins.

4-19-7: A team-control foul is a common foul committed by a member of the team that has team control or by a member of the throw-in team from the start of the throw-in until player control is obtained inbounds.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
#61 A-1’s frontcourt end-line throw-in is deflected by A-2. Before B-1 can secure control of the ball, A-2 fouls B-1 in Team A’s frontcourt. The official rules a team-control foul on A-2 and awards the ball to Team B for a throw-in from the applicable throw-in spot. Is this correct?
Yes, this is correct.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Nov 10, 2025 at 01:38pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IAABO Refresher Exam #17 BillyMac Basketball 33 Today 08:03pm
IAABO Refresher Exam Question #33 ... BillyMac Basketball 7 Fri Nov 07, 2014 01:33am
IAABO Refresher Exam Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Basketball 33 Sat Dec 27, 2008 03:08pm
Backcourt ? from IAABO Refresher Exam Joel Poli Basketball 10 Fri Nov 07, 2003 11:05pm
IAABO Refresher Exam Question 25 ken roberts Basketball 6 Wed Oct 27, 1999 08:43pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1