The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 04, 2025, 03:49pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,500
IAABO Refresher Exam #17

Our IAABO Refresher Exam study group met last night. We could not come up with a consensus on question #17. We did not have access to an answer sheet, but were given a citation 4-42-5.

Note that unlike other similar questions in past years, the kick was by the throwin team.

#17 Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in under the alternating-possession procedure. A-1’s throw-in is kicked by A-2. The official awards the ball to Team B and has the scorer turn the arrow toward Team B’s basket. Is the official correct?

What say you, and why?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 04, 2025, 06:45pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,985
What are the conditions that cause an AP throw-in to end?

Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 04, 2025, 07:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Our IAABO Refresher Exam study group met last night. We could not come up with a consensus on question #17. We did not have access to an answer sheet, but were given a citation 4-42-5.

Note that unlike other similar questions in past years, the kick was by the throwin team.
#17 Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in under the alternating-possession procedure. A-1’s throw-in is kicked by A-2. The official awards the ball to Team B and has the scorer turn the arrow toward Team B’s basket. Is the official correct?

What say you, and why?
I say NO and here is why
Team A keeps the A/P arrow. Did Team A violate the Throw-in? No. Was the ball legally touched? No, it was kicked. Thus, DO NOT change the A/P arrow. The new Throw-in is from the result of the Kick violation. Team B will have the Throw-in at one of the 8 magic location (4 in the Front court, 4 in the Back court) based on the location of the kick violation.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 04, 2025, 07:41pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,985
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy View Post
I say NO and here is why

Team A keeps the A/P arrow. Did Team A violate the Throw-in? No. Was the ball legally touched? No, it was kicked. Thus, DO NOT change the A/P arrow. The new Throw-in is from the result of the Kick violation. Team B will have the Throw-in at one of the 8 magic location (4 in the Front court, 4 in the Back court) based on the location of the kick violation.
What causes an AP throw-in to end, knowing that the AP arrow changes when an AP throw-in ends.

Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 04, 2025, 08:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,331
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy View Post
I say NO and here is why
Team A keeps the A/P arrow. Did Team A violate the Throw-in? No. Was the ball legally touched? No, it was kicked. Thus, DO NOT change the A/P arrow. The new Throw-in is from the result of the Kick violation. Team B will have the Throw-in at one of the 8 magic location (4 in the Front court, 4 in the Back court) based on the location of the kick violation.
The rule says "lost if the throw-in team violates", which they did via the kick. Loss of arrow.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 05, 2025, 10:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,232
Interesting. NCAAW specifically says "throw-in violation" (emphasis added):
Art. 2. The alternating-possession procedure starts when an official places
the ball at the disposal of a player for a throw-in� The alternating-possession
procedure ends and the arrow is reversed immediately when a passed ball legally
touches an inbounds player, when a player, who is located on the playing court,
touches and causes the ball to be out of bounds, or when the throw-in team
commits a throw-in violation

Art. 7. The opportunity to make an alternating-possession throw-in shall be
lost when the throw-in team violates the throw-in provisions� (See Rule 9-4�
I always thought it was the same. Did it change in NFHS?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 05, 2025, 12:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,331
ART. 6 . . . The opportunity to make an alternating-possession throw-in is lost if the throw-in team violates. If either team fouls during an alternating-possession throw-in, it does not cause the throw-in team to lose the possession arrow. If the defensive team commits a violation during the throw-in, the possession arrow is not switched.

The way it's worded to me means any violation by A loses the arrow. If NFHS said "committed a throw-in violation" or "violates the throw-in" it would be clearer if they intend for A to not lose the arrow here.

Last edited by SNIPERBBB; Wed Nov 05, 2025 at 12:29pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 08, 2025, 09:42am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,500
Throw In Ends ...

4-42-5: The throw-in ends when:
a. The passed ball touches or is touched by another player inbounds.
b. The passed ball touches or is touched by another player out-of-bounds, except as in 7-5-7.
c. The throw-in team commits a throw-in violation.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 09, 2025, 08:29am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,500
Throwin Ends ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
ART. 6 . . . The opportunity to make an alternating-possession throw-in is lost if the throw-in team violates. If either team fouls during an alternating-possession throw-in, it does not cause the throw-in team to lose the possession arrow. If the defensive team commits a violation during the throw-in, the possession arrow is not switched.
More:

6-4 Alternating Possession
ART. 5 The direction of the possession arrow is reversed immediately after an alternating-possession throw-in ends. An alternating-possession throw-in ends when the throw-in ends as in 4-42-5.
ART. 6 The opportunity to make an alternating-possession throw-in is lost if the throw-in team violates. If either team fouls during an alternating possession throw-in, it does not cause the throw-in team to lose the possession arrow. If the defensive team commits a violation during the throw-in, the possession arrow is not switched.

4-42 Throw-In
ART. 5 . . . The throw-in ends when:
a. The passed ball touches or is touched by another player inbounds.
b. The passed ball touches or is touched by another player out-of-bounds, except as in 7-5-7.
c. The throw-in team commits a throw-in violation.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 12, 2025, 01:45pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,985
Is the phrase "throw-in violation" defined in the rulebook?

Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 12, 2025, 02:16pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,500
Throwin Violations ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
Is the phrase "throw-in violation" defined in the rulebook?
Rule 9 Violations And Penalties
Rule 9 - Section 2
Throw-In Provisions
ART. 1 The thrower shall not leave the designated throw-in spot until the ball has been released on a throw-in pass.
ART. 2 The ball shall be passed by the thrower directly into the court from out-of-bounds so it touches or is touched by another player (inbounds or out of bounds) on the court before going out of bounds untouched.
ART. 3 The thrown ball shall not be touched by a teammate of the thrower while the ball is on the out-of-bounds side of the throw-in boundary-line plane, except as in 7-5-7.
ART. 4 Once the throw-in starts, the ball shall be released on a pass directly into the court before five seconds have elapsed.
ART. 5 The thrower shall not carry the ball onto the court.
ART. 6 The thrown ball shall not touch the thrower in the court before it touches or is touched by another player.
ART. 7 The thrown ball shall not enter the basket before it touches or is touched by another player.
ART. 8 The thrown ball shall not become lodged between the backboard and ring or come to rest on the flange before it touches or is touched by another player.
ART. 9 The thrower shall not be replaced by a teammate after the ball is at the thrower’s disposal, except as in 7-5-7.
ART. 10 The opponent(s) of the thrower shall not have any part of his/her person through the inbounds side of the throw-in boundary-line plane until the ball has been released on a throw-in pass.
NOTE: The thrower may penetrate the plane provided he/she does not touch the inbounds area or a player inbounds before the ball is released on the throw-in pass. The opponent in this situation may legally touch or grasp the ball.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 12, 2025, 02:21pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,985
I don't see mention of a throw-in ending in what was just posted.

Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 12, 2025, 03:07pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,500
Throwin Ends ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
I don't see mention of a throw-in ending in what was just posted.
4-42 Throw-In
ART. 5 The throw-in ends when:
a. The passed ball touches or is touched by another player inbounds.
b. The passed ball touches or is touched by another player out-of-bounds, except as in 7-5-7.
c. The throw-in team commits a throw-in violation.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 12, 2025, 07:25pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,985
There has to be a difference between a throw-in ending and an AP throw-in ending or what causes the arrow to be switched.

The two latest citations posted don't account for the defensive team kicking the ball. It just says throw-in ends end when somebody touches the ball inbounds. Doesn't differentiate between legal and illegal touching.

Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 13, 2025, 09:53am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,500
Confused In Connecticut ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
There has to be a difference between a throw-in ending and an AP throw-in ending or what causes the arrow to be switched. The two latest citations posted don't account for the defensive team kicking the ball. It just says throw-in ends end when somebody touches the ball inbounds. Doesn't differentiate between legal and illegal touching.
Agree that the actual NFHS rule language and the NFHS case plays don't seem to match.

Exactly forty years ago (has it been that long) when the alternating possession arrow was first introduced (before that all held ball situations were actually decided by jump balls at one of three different jump ball circles on the court) the original interpretation of a defensive kick on a throwin was that while the touch was an indeed an illegal touch, it was still nevertheless a touch that ended the throwin, and the arrow would be switched.

Soon after that the NFHS changed the interpretation and I’ve been confused ever since.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Nov 13, 2025 at 10:33am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IAABO Refresher Exam Question #57 ... BillyMac Basketball 0 Wed Nov 05, 2014 05:48pm
IAABO Refresher Exam 2014 LIRef Basketball 9 Sat Oct 25, 2014 08:03pm
IAABO Refresher Exam Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Basketball 33 Sat Dec 27, 2008 03:08pm
Backcourt ? from IAABO Refresher Exam Joel Poli Basketball 10 Fri Nov 07, 2003 11:05pm
IAABO Refresher Exam Question 25 ken roberts Basketball 6 Wed Oct 27, 1999 08:43pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1