The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 13, 2025, 05:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,331
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
There used to be something called "floor violations". That was a long, long time ago that I last read about them.

If the rulebook no longer defines what constitutes a "throw-in violation", then we have to assume any violation by the offense committed before the throw-in ends is a throw-in violation.

Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk
I think it's fine the way it is unless you're going for unity with NCAA. For simplicity, is like it to say, any violation by the throw-in team loses the arrow, by the defense keep the arrow, fouls do not change the arrow. Trying to make it throw in only violations by the offense is harder to remember for newer officials. Older ones screw this up enough as it is
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old Today, 09:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 81
#17 is "no"

The confirmed correct answer to #17 is "No".
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old Today, 01:23pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,500
IAABO Versus NFHS Feud ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by RefLarry View Post
The confirmed correct answer to #17 is "No".
#17 Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in under the alternating-possession procedure. A-1’s throw-in is kicked by A-2. The official awards the ball to Team B and has the scorer turn the arrow toward Team B’s basket. Is the official correct?

No, as I answered correctly, but this says otherwise:

6.4.5 SITUATION A: Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in under the alternating procedure. A1 commits a violation. RULING: B’s ball for a throw-in because of the violation. In addition, the possession arrow is reversed and is pointed towards B’s basket. Team B will have the next throw-in opportunity under the alternating procedure. Team A has lost its opportunity by virtue of the violation. A violation by Team A during an alternating-possession throw-in is the only way a team loses its turn under the procedure. COMMENT: If a foul by either team occurs before an alternating-possession throw-in ends, the foul is penalized as required and play continues as it normally would, but the possession arrow is not reversed. The same team will still have the arrow for the next alternating-possession throw-in. The arrow is reversed when an alternating-possession throw-in ends. (6-4-4)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old Today, 08:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,022
[QUOTE=BillyMac;1054382]4-42-5: The throw-in ends when:
a. The passed ball touches or is legally touched by another player inbounds.
b. The passed ball touches or is touched by another player out-of-bounds, except as in 7-5-7.
c. The throw-in team commits a throw-in violation.
[/QUOTE]

Fixed it for ya.
You are using an old version of the NFHS Rules book for your cut and paste. Be aware of this. Precision in the wording of the rule matters in these very technical discussions that we have.

For example, I double-checked that the word legally does not appear in part b of this rule. Therefore, if A1 makes a throw-in pass and B1, who has a foot out of bounds, is the first player to touch the throw-in pass when he kicks/punches the ball, then this illegal contact does end the throw-in and the arrow needs to be switched.

I don’t like that part c conflicts with the first sentence of 6-4-6. The NFHS needs to make a decision and fix this. For the time being, since two rules conflict, I believe that we have to go with how the case book play instructs us to call this and that is any violation by Team A during a throw-in loses the arrow.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IAABO Refresher Exam Question #57 ... BillyMac Basketball 0 Wed Nov 05, 2014 05:48pm
IAABO Refresher Exam 2014 LIRef Basketball 9 Sat Oct 25, 2014 08:03pm
IAABO Refresher Exam Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Basketball 33 Sat Dec 27, 2008 03:08pm
Backcourt ? from IAABO Refresher Exam Joel Poli Basketball 10 Fri Nov 07, 2003 11:05pm
IAABO Refresher Exam Question 25 ken roberts Basketball 6 Wed Oct 27, 1999 08:43pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1