View Single Post
  #34 (permalink)  
Old Yesterday, 08:03pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,022
[QUOTE=BillyMac;1054382]4-42-5: The throw-in ends when:
a. The passed ball touches or is legally touched by another player inbounds.
b. The passed ball touches or is touched by another player out-of-bounds, except as in 7-5-7.
c. The throw-in team commits a throw-in violation.
[/QUOTE]

Fixed it for ya.
You are using an old version of the NFHS Rules book for your cut and paste. Be aware of this. Precision in the wording of the rule matters in these very technical discussions that we have.

For example, I double-checked that the word legally does not appear in part b of this rule. Therefore, if A1 makes a throw-in pass and B1, who has a foot out of bounds, is the first player to touch the throw-in pass when he kicks/punches the ball, then this illegal contact does end the throw-in and the arrow needs to be switched.

I don’t like that part c conflicts with the first sentence of 6-4-6. The NFHS needs to make a decision and fix this. For the time being, since two rules conflict, I believe that we have to go with how the case book play instructs us to call this and that is any violation by Team A during a throw-in loses the arrow.
Reply With Quote